Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The uninterruptible power supplies (UPS) in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what has to stay up: a NAS, a home lab server, a router and a switch, or a small office desk. Filter by VA and watts, pure sine wave, design, shutdown signal, network card, rack or tower and price, then read the buying guide below the table.
Replacement batteries, DC mini UPS for routers and units over 3,000 VA are not listed. Nothing here was tested hands-on and no runtime was measured. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 171 UPS units, each with a price read in the store's window, 166 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:42 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 171 UPS units priced from $100. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Home lab: A stated pure sine wave output, and either a stated USB or software shutdown signal or a network card, so a NAS or a server shuts down cleanly before the battery runs out. A listing that does not state both is not judged.
Rack mount: The title says it mounts in a rack (rack mount, 1U, 2U, rack/tower convertible). A tower that the title does not call rackable is left out. A listing that says neither is not judged.
Network card: A stated network management card or port (SNMP, a web interface, a network management card in the box or in a slot), so several machines can read the battery state over the network. A listing that does not state one is not judged.
Online double conversion: A stated online (double conversion) design, where the load always runs from the inverter. A stated line interactive or standby design is left out. A listing that does not state the design is not judged.
A UPS whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows UPS units that meet both.
20 shown of 171 matching
Recommended: $320 to $830 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
In a home lab a UPS has two jobs: carry the NAS and the servers through a short outage, and tell them to shut down cleanly before the battery runs out. The Home lab rule asks for a stated pure sine wave output and a stated USB or software shutdown signal or network card.
40 UPS units of the 171 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $107.99 to $3,896.00 at the last price check. 131 UPS units do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
VA and watts: sizing it
Per Wikipedia's volt-ampere article, the volt-ampere (VA) is the unit of apparent power, a UPS has ratings both for maximum volt-amperes and maximum watts, and neither limit may safely be exceeded. Add up the watts your gear draws and keep it under the watt rating, not only the VA. Runtime depends on that load; this table does not list one, so check the maker's runtime figures for your load.
171 UPS units in this table state a VA rating. The stated ratings run from 350 VA to 3,000 VA. 166 UPS units in this table state a watt rating.
Pure sine wave
A pure sine wave output matches the power from the wall; a simulated or stepped sine wave only approximates it. Per Vertiv, power runs through an online UPS continually, so its output is a perfect sine wave. A line interactive or standby unit states its own wave form on the listing.
83 UPS units in this table state a pure sine wave output.
USB or network shutdown (NUT)
A shutdown signal over USB lets the machine on the other end see the battery state and shut down before it runs flat. Per the Network UPS Tools (NUT) project, NUT provides a common protocol and set of tools to monitor and manage UPS units, so one machine reading the UPS can tell the others on the network to shut down too.
59 UPS units in this table state a USB or software shutdown signal. 14 UPS units in this table state a network card.
Rack mount UPS
A rack mount UPS mounts in a 19-inch rack with the rest of the gear; a convertible rack/tower unit can do either. A tower stands on the floor or a desk beside the gear.
61 UPS units of the 171 in this table meet the Rack mount rule printed beside the filter, from $219.95 to $4,889.00 at the last price check. 73 UPS units do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
61 UPS units in this table state a rack mount. 37 UPS units in this table state a tower without a rack option.
UPS with a network card
A network management card puts the UPS on the network itself, so every server, NAS and hypervisor can read its state without a USB cable to one of them. Per the Network UPS Tools (NUT) project, NUT supports monitoring and managing power devices over a common protocol.
14 UPS units of the 171 in this table meet the Network card rule printed beside the filter, from $289.95 to $2,665.00 at the last price check. 157 UPS units do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
14 UPS units in this table state a network card or port.
Online double conversion UPS
Per Vertiv, a standby (offline) UPS is the cost-effective choice, a line interactive UPS adds power conditioning to battery backup, and an online UPS, also called double conversion, runs the power through itself continually, so its output is a perfect sine wave.
8 UPS units of the 171 in this table meet the Online double conversion rule printed beside the filter, from $593.99 to $3,055.00 at the last price check. 105 UPS units do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Stated designs in this table: Online, 8; Line interactive, 52; Standby, 6. 105 UPS units do not state a design.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What UPS is best for a home lab or a NAS?
One with a pure sine wave output and a shutdown signal the NAS or server can read, over USB or a network card. That is the Home lab rule printed beside the filter. 83 UPS units in this table state a pure sine wave output.
What is the difference between VA and watts on a UPS?
Wikipedia's volt-ampere article says VA measures apparent power, that a UPS is rated both in maximum VA and maximum watts, and that neither limit may safely be exceeded. Size the UPS by the watts your gear draws. Source: Wikipedia's volt-ampere article
Line interactive or online UPS?
Vertiv says a line interactive UPS provides both power conditioning and battery backup, and an online (double conversion) UPS runs power through itself continually, so its output is a perfect sine wave. Stated designs here: Online, 8; Line interactive, 52; Standby, 6. Source: Vertiv
What is NUT?
The Network UPS Tools project says NUT provides a common protocol and set of tools to monitor and manage power devices, so one UPS can signal several machines to shut down. 59 UPS units in this table state a USB or software shutdown signal. Source: the Network UPS Tools (NUT) project
How long will a UPS run my gear?
It depends on the load and the battery, and this table does not list a runtime. Check the maker's runtime figures at your load before you buy.
Rack mount or tower UPS?
A rack mount UPS sits in the rack with the gear; a tower stands beside it. A rack/tower convertible does either. 61 UPS units in this table state a rack mount.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. UPS units priced under $100 are not listed, nor a unit priced more than six times the median of units with the same VA rating. 171 UPS units are listed now.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these UPS units hands-on and measured no runtime or wave form. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a UPS whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.
Discussion
Best UPS for a home lab: sine wave and shutdown | Argusic