Best network switches for home labs and developers

Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

The Ethernet switches in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what your network has to carry: a home lab with a NAS and a server, a desk faster than gigabit, cameras and access points on PoE, or a switch quiet enough to sit beside you. Filter by port speed, ports, SFP cages, managed, PoE budget and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.

Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.

Right now: 318 switches, each with a price read in the store's window, 317 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:29 PDT.

Top picks

Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.

  1. Omada SG3428XPP-M2

    Leads with 2.5G ports

    719.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  2. YuanLey 28 Port Gigabit Managed PoE Switch

    SFP+ cages for a fiber or DAC uplink

    279.98 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:29 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  3. 129.00 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon

Listing 318 switches priced from $15. Colours of one product share a row.

Use for
The rules
  • Home lab: Managed (smart, web or fully managed) and faster than gigabit somewhere: a lead port speed of 2.5G or more, a stated 10G port, or SFP+ (or faster) cages for a NAS or server uplink. Unmanaged switches are left out, and so is a managed switch that states gigabit ports and only 1G SFP cages. A listing that does not say whether it is managed is not judged.
  • Multi-gig desk: A lead port speed of 2.5G or more, for a desktop, NAS or Wi-Fi 7 access point faster than gigabit. A switch that leads with gigabit or Fast Ethernet and states no 10G port is left out.
  • PoE devices: Supplies Power over Ethernet, as the listing states (PoE, PoE+, PoE++ or 802.3af, at or bt), for cameras, access points and phones on one cable. A switch stated as non-PoE is left out.
  • Quiet desk: Fanless, as the listing states, for a switch that sits on or under a desk. A listing that does not say fanless is not judged.
  • A switch whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows switches that meet both.
20 shown of 318 matching

Recommended: $100 to $300 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.

Network switches

TP-Link TL-SX1008

TP-Link

Ports: 8Gbps: 10

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: yesPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: not stated

  • Leads with 10G ports
  • A 10G port
  • 14% below the store's typical price of $349.99
  • Unmanaged: no VLANs

299.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:29 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Omada SG2428LP

TP-Link

Ports: 24Gbps: 1SFP: SFP

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: noPoE devices: noQuiet desk: yes

  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • Fanless, stated by the seller
  • 31% below the store's list price of $289.99

199.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Omada ES220GMP

TP-Link

Ports: 16Gbps: 1PoE W: 250

Home lab: not statedMulti-gig desk: noPoE devices: yesQuiet desk: not stated

  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • PoE with a stated 250 W budget
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Blazing Network US), not by the store itself

159.99 USDsold by Blazing Network USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Gbe Ethernet Switch Unmanaged

NICGIGA

Ports: 18Gbps: 10

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: yesPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: yes

  • Leads with 10G ports
  • A 10G port
  • Fanless, stated by the seller
  • Unmanaged: no VLANs
  • Sold by a third-party seller (NICGIGA-US), not by the store itself

219.99 USDsold by NICGIGA-USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

TP-Link TL-SG1428PE

TP-Link

Ports: 24Gbps: 1SFP: SFPPoE W: 250

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: noPoE devices: yesQuiet desk: not stated

  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • PoE with a stated 250 W budget
  • 21% below the store's list price of $249.99

198.00 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Gbe Ethernet Switch Unmanaged

NICGIGA

Ports: 10Gbps: 10

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: yesPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: yes

  • Leads with 10G ports
  • A 10G port
  • Fanless, stated by the seller
  • Unmanaged: no VLANs
  • Sold by a third-party seller (NICGIGA-US), not by the store itself

116.99 USDsold by NICGIGA-USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

TP-Link TL-SX105

TP-Link

Ports: 5Gbps: 10

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: yesPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: yes

  • Leads with 10G ports
  • A 10G port
  • Fanless, stated by the seller
  • Unmanaged: no VLANs

229.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:29 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

24 Port Gigabit Ethernet PoE Switch

YuanLey

Ports: 24Gbps: 1SFP: SFPPoE W: 400

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: noPoE devices: yesQuiet desk: not stated

  • PoE with a stated 400 W budget
  • 10% below the store's list price of $179.98
  • Unmanaged: no VLANs
  • Sold by a third-party seller (YuanLey), not by the store itself

161.98 USDsold by YuanLeyin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Goalake 28-Port Gigabit Managed PoE Switch

Goalake

Ports: 28Gbps: 1SFP: SFP

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: noPoE devices: yesQuiet desk: not stated

  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • Supplies PoE
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Gsk-us), not by the store itself

129.99 USDsold by Gsk-usin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

YuanLey 28 Port Gigabit Managed PoE Switch

YuanLey

Ports: 28Gbps: 1SFP: SFP+PoE W: 400

Home lab: yesMulti-gig desk: not statedPoE devices: yesQuiet desk: not stated

  • SFP+ cages for a fiber or DAC uplink
  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • PoE with a stated 400 W budget
  • Sold by a third-party seller (YuanLey), not by the store itself

279.98 USDsold by YuanLeyin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:29 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Omada SG3428X

TP-Link

Ports: 24Gbps: 1SFP: SFP+

Home lab: yesMulti-gig desk: not statedPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: not stated

  • SFP+ cages for a fiber or DAC uplink
  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • 15% below the store's list price of $349.99
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Blazing Network US), not by the store itself

299.00 USDsold by Blazing Network USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Omada SG3428

TP-Link

Ports: 24Gbps: 1SFP: SFP

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: noPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: not stated

  • Managed: VLANs and settings you can change
  • 9% below the store's list price of $219.99
  • Sold by the store itself

199.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

8 Port 10G Ethernet Switch Unmanaged

NICGIGA

Ports: 8Gbps: 10

Home lab: noMulti-gig desk: yesPoE devices: not statedQuiet desk: not stated

  • Leads with 10G ports
  • A 10G port
  • 10% below the store's list price of $279.98
  • Unmanaged: no VLANs
  • Sold by a third-party seller (NICGIGA-US), not by the store itself

251.98 USDsold by NICGIGA-USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Best network switches for a home lab

A home lab switch connects the machines you build and break: a NAS, a server or two, a desktop, an access point. Two things set it apart from the switch that came free with a router. It is managed, so you can split traffic into VLANs (a lab network apart from the family's devices) and see what each port is doing. And it has at least one path faster than gigabit, so a backup or a large image copy to the NAS is not held to gigabit.

44 switches of the 318 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $49.99 to $7,001.96 at the last price check. 133 switches do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Managed or unmanaged

An unmanaged switch has nothing to set: plug in and it forwards. A managed switch (sellers also say smart, web managed or easy managed for the lighter kinds) has a settings page for VLANs, link aggregation and port statistics. The words vary; this table marks a switch managed when the listing says managed and leaves unmanaged out.

100 switches in this table state managed. 115 switches in this table state unmanaged. 103 switches do not state either.

SFP+ cages: the uplink to a server or NAS

An SFP cage takes a plug-in module instead of a fixed port: a fiber optic, an RJ45 copper module, or a direct attach cable. SFP+ is the 10G kind. Per Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet, SFP+ direct attach copper cables suit very short distances, within a rack and across adjacent racks, and a 10GBASE-SR optic reaches up to 300 meters on OM3 multimode fiber. The modules are on the SFP modules page.

Fastest SFP cage stated in this table: SFP, 54; SFP+, 71; QSFP, 11. 182 switches do not state an SFP cage.

Switches for a multi-gig desk

A switch moves data no faster than its slowest link on the path. If your desktop, NAS or Wi-Fi 7 access point has a 2.5G or 10G port, a gigabit switch between them holds every copy to gigabit. The speed this table shows is the one the seller leads with in the title; a switch sold as 2.5G with two 10G uplinks shows 2.5G, and its 10G ports show in the 10G filter.

101 switches of the 318 in this table meet the Multi-gig desk rule printed beside the filter, from $28.39 to $49,990.00 at the last price check. 70 switches do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Lead port speeds stated in this table: Fast Ethernet (100 Mbps), 10; 1G, 156; 2.5G, 61; 10G, 31; 25G, 3; 100G, 6. 51 switches do not state a speed. 96 switches in this table state a 10G port.

PoE switches for cameras and access points

A PoE switch sends power down the same Ethernet cable as the data, so a camera, an access point or a desk phone needs no power outlet where it hangs. The budget is the total the switch can share across its PoE ports; every device you plug in draws from it, so add up what your devices need before you choose. Budgets in this table are the seller's figures.

138 switches of the 318 in this table meet the PoE devices rule printed beside the filter, from $17.99 to $6,819.67 at the last price check. 178 switches do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

138 switches in this table state PoE. 113 switches in this table state a PoE budget. The largest stated is 513 W.

Quiet switches for a desk

A switch on the desk or in a bedroom closet is heard all day. A fanless switch has no fan to hear; switches with many fast ports and large PoE budgets often have fans. This table marks a switch fanless only where the listing says so.

134 switches of the 318 in this table meet the Quiet desk rule printed beside the filter, from $17.06 to $1,088.89 at the last price check. 184 switches do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

134 switches in this table state fanless.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

What switch is best for a home lab?

A managed switch with something faster than gigabit: 2.5G or faster ports, a 10G port, or SFP+ cages for the NAS or server. That is the Home lab rule printed beside the filter. 100 switches in this table state managed.

Do I need a managed switch?

Only if you want to set something: VLANs to keep a lab apart from the rest of the house, link aggregation, or port statistics. For a few devices on one network an unmanaged switch does the job. 115 switches in this table state unmanaged.

What is an SFP+ port on a switch?

A cage for a 10G plug-in module: a fiber optic, an RJ45 copper module, or a direct attach cable. Cisco's data sheet describes direct attach cables as suited to very short distances, within and across adjacent racks. Fastest cages stated here: SFP, 54; SFP+, 71; QSFP, 11. Source: Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet

Is a 2.5G switch worth it?

When at least two things on it are faster than gigabit, such as a desktop with a 2.5G card and a NAS or Wi-Fi 7 access point with a 2.5G port. Between gigabit devices it changes nothing. 101 switches in this table state a lead speed of 2.5G or more.

How big a PoE budget do I need?

Add up what each powered device draws, from its own spec sheet, and leave room to add one more. The budget is shared by all PoE ports. 113 switches in this table state a PoE budget.

Are fanless switches slower?

Not by being fanless: a fan is about getting heat out, not about speed. Switches with many fast ports or large PoE budgets make more heat and often have fans. 134 switches in this table state fanless.

How this page is built

Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Switches priced under $15 are not listed, and neither are listings priced 50 or more times the median of switches of the same stated speed: data-center switches and reseller listings no home lab buys. 318 switches are listed now.

The table lists Ethernet switches: KVM, USB and HDMI switches, PoE injectors, two-port selectors and accessories are left out. Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these switches hands-on and measured no speed, power or noise. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a switch whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.

The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.

This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.

Discussion

Best network switches for home labs: 2.5G and 10G | Argusic