Best CPUs for programming, compiling and AI workstations

Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

The desktop processors in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what you will build: a machine that compiles code, an AI or workstation build, a gaming PC, a home server, or a small case. Filter by maker, processor line, cores, socket, integrated graphics and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.

Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.

Right now: 131 processors, each with a price read in the store's window, 131 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT.

Top picks

Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.

  1. AMD RYZEN 7 9800X3D 8-Core

    8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds

    444.00 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

    View on AmazonView on Best Buy
  2. 237.38 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  3. AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D 8-core

    8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds

    339.95 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

    View on AmazonView on Best Buy

Listing 131 processors priced from $140. Colours of one product share a row.

Use for
The rules
  • Programming: Enough cores to compile in parallel: 8 or more cores, or 16 or more threads, as the listing states them. A processor stated to have fewer than 8 cores is left out; one that states neither is not judged.
  • AI & workstation: 16 or more cores stated, or a workstation line (Ryzen Threadripper, Ryzen Threadripper PRO, Xeon, EPYC). A desktop processor stated to have fewer than 16 cores is left out; one that states no core count is not judged.
  • Gaming: AMD 3D V-Cache (an X3D model), or a socket for current desktop gaming processors (AM5, AM4, LGA1851, LGA1700) with 6 or more cores. An older or workstation socket, or fewer than 6 cores, is left out. Without 3D V-Cache, the socket and the core count have to be stated.
  • Home server: A TDP of 65 W or less, as the listing states it, for a machine that runs all day. A higher stated TDP is left out; a processor that states none is not judged.
  • Small build: Integrated graphics stated, so the processor drives a display and the case needs no room for a graphics card. A processor stated to need a graphics card is left out; one that states neither is not judged.
  • A processor whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows processors that meet both.
20 shown of 131 matching

Recommended: $350 to $450 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.

CPUs

AMD RYZEN 7 9800X3D 8-Core

AMD

Cores: 8Threads: 16Socket: AM5

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: yesHome server: not statedSmall build: not stated

  • 8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds
  • AMD 3D V-Cache
  • 7% below the store's list price of $479.00

444.00 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel Core i7-14700K new gaming desktop processor

Intel

Cores: 20Threads: 28Integrated graphics: Yes

Programming: yesAI & workstation: yesGaming: not statedHome server: not statedSmall build: yes

  • 20 cores and 28 threads for parallel builds
  • Integrated graphics: runs a display with no graphics card
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Giz-Promo), not by the store itself

359.99 USDsold by Giz-Promoin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-core

AMD

Cores: 16Threads: 32Socket: AM4

Programming: yesAI & workstation: yesGaming: yesHome server: not statedSmall build: not stated

  • 16 cores and 32 threads for parallel builds
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Perfect Stock), not by the store itself

417.94 USDsold by Perfect Stockin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel Core i9-12900K Gaming Desktop Processor

Intel

Cores: 16Socket: LGA1700Integrated graphics: YesTDP (W): 125

Programming: yesAI & workstation: yesGaming: yesHome server: noSmall build: yes

  • 16 cores for parallel builds
  • Integrated graphics: runs a display with no graphics card
  • 7% below the store's typical price of $418.00
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Giz-Promo), not by the store itself

389.99 USDsold by Giz-Promoin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D 8-core

AMD

Cores: 8Threads: 16Socket: AM4

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: yesHome server: not statedSmall build: not stated

  • 8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds
  • AMD 3D V-Cache
  • Sold by a third-party seller (QuickDealStore), not by the store itself

369.00 USDsold by QuickDealStorein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel Core Ultra 7 Desktop Processor 265K

Intel

Cores: 20Threads: 20

Programming: yesAI & workstation: yesGaming: not statedHome server: not statedSmall build: not stated

  • 20 cores and 20 threads for parallel builds
  • Sold by a third-party seller (HIMALAYAS.LLC (SN recorded)), not by the store itself

350.00 USDsold by HIMALAYAS.LLC (SN recorded)in stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

AMD Ryzen 9 5900XT

AMD

Cores: 16Threads: 32Socket: AM4TDP (W): 105

Programming: yesAI & workstation: yesGaming: yesHome server: noSmall build: not stated

  • 16 cores and 32 threads for parallel builds
  • Sold by a third-party seller (IPC-STORE✅), not by the store itself

381.62 USDsold by IPC-STORE✅in stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

AMD RYZEN 7 1700X

AMD

Programming: not statedAI & workstation: not statedGaming: not statedHome server: not statedSmall build: not stated

  • Sold by a third-party seller (B2smile), not by the store itself

445.00 USDsold by B2smilein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel Core i9-9900K Desktop Processor 8 Cores up to 5.0 GHz Turbo

Intel

Cores: 8Threads: 16Socket: LGA1151Integrated graphics: YesTDP (W): 95

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: noHome server: noSmall build: yes

  • 8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds
  • Integrated graphics: runs a display with no graphics card
  • Sold by a third-party seller (PC 0utlets), not by the store itself

419.00 USDsold by PC 0utletsin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel Core i9-9900K Desktop Processor 8 Cores up to 5.0GHz Unlocked

Intel

Cores: 8Threads: 16Socket: LGA1151TDP (W): 95

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: noHome server: noSmall build: not stated

  • 8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds
  • 9% below the store's typical price of $439.00
  • Sold by a third-party seller (PC 0utlets), not by the store itself

399.00 USDsold by PC 0utletsin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel Core i9-10900KF Desktop Processor 10 Cores up to 5.3 GHz Unlocked

Intel

Cores: 10Threads: 20Socket: LGA1200Integrated graphics: NoTDP (W): 125

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: noHome server: noSmall build: no

  • 10 cores and 20 threads for parallel builds
  • No integrated graphics: needs a graphics card
  • Sold by a third-party seller (PC 0utlets), not by the store itself

439.00 USDsold by PC 0utletsin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel® Core™ i7-10700F Desktop Processor 8 Cores up to 4.8 GHz Without

Intel

Cores: 8Threads: 16Socket: LGA1200Integrated graphics: NoTDP (W): 65

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: noHome server: yesSmall build: no

  • 8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds
  • 65 W TDP
  • No integrated graphics: needs a graphics card
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Business Premium Desktops Laptops (SN Recorded)), not by the store itself

364.37 USDsold by Business Premium Desktops Laptops (SN Recorded)in stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Intel BX80684I99900KF Intel Core i9-9900KF Desktop Processor 8 Cores

Intel

Cores: 8Threads: 16Socket: LGA1151Integrated graphics: NoTDP (W): 95

Programming: yesAI & workstation: noGaming: noHome server: noSmall build: no

  • 8 cores and 16 threads for parallel builds
  • No integrated graphics: needs a graphics card
  • Sold by a third-party seller (PC 0utlets), not by the store itself

409.00 USDsold by PC 0utletsin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Best CPUs for programming and compiling

A compiler, a test runner and a container build all split their work across cores, so a processor with more cores and threads finishes a large build sooner. An editor and a browser need far less. If you build big projects or run many services at once, look at the core count first, then the socket and the price.

92 processors of the 131 in this table meet the Programming rule printed beside the filter, from $143.00 to $3,300.49 at the last price check. 17 processors do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Cores and threads

A thread is a stream of work the processor runs at the same time as others. Many processors run two threads per core; some, including Intel's newer hybrid parts, run one thread on some or all of their cores, so check both numbers. Counts below are only what a listing states as a number.

112 processors state a core count. 90 processors have 8 or more, the most 64. 64 processors state 16 or more threads.

Socket: what board it fits

The socket decides which motherboards the processor fits. Pick the processor first, then a board with the same socket, and check that the board's maker lists the processor as supported.

The stated sockets in this table: LGA1200, 18; AM5, 14; AM4, 13; LGA1151, 13; LGA1700, 9; LGA2066, 3; LGA1851, 1. 60 processors do not state one.

By maker: 49 AMD processors and 82 Intel processors.

Integrated graphics

A processor with integrated graphics can drive a monitor with no graphics card, which is all an editor and a terminal need. One without it needs a graphics card. Intel marks its parts that need one with an F in the model number ("i5-14400F"); per Intel's processor numbers page, the F suffix means "requires discrete graphics". Here a processor counts as having integrated graphics only when its listing says so.

28 processors state integrated graphics. 30 processors state that a graphics card is needed. 73 processors do not state either.

CPUs for AI and workstation builds

Local AI work mostly runs on the graphics card, but the processor still prepares data, runs the services around a model and compiles the code. A workstation line (Ryzen Threadripper, Ryzen Threadripper PRO, Xeon and EPYC) or a desktop part with 16 or more cores leaves room for that. Check that the motherboard you pair it with takes the memory you need.

40 processors of the 131 in this table meet the AI & workstation rule printed beside the filter, from $209.99 to $5,420.59 at the last price check. 16 processors do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

13 processors in this table are from a workstation line. 35 processors state 16 or more cores.

CPUs for gaming

For a gaming PC the graphics card sets most of the frame rate; the processor has to keep up with it. The Gaming rule here asks for AMD 3D V-Cache (an X3D model, which carries extra cache), or a current desktop socket (AM5, AM4, LGA1851 and LGA1700) with 6 or more cores.

38 processors of the 131 in this table meet the Gaming rule printed beside the filter, from $159.00 to $888.00 at the last price check. 57 processors do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

10 processors in this table name 3D V-Cache or an X3D model.

CPUs for a home server

A home server runs all day, so the power it draws and the heat it makes matter more than its peak speed. TDP is the maker's figure for the heat the cooler has to remove; the Home server rule asks for a stated TDP of 65 W or less. A processor with integrated graphics also saves the slot and the power of a graphics card.

13 processors of the 131 in this table meet the Home server rule printed beside the filter, from $157.34 to $623.00 at the last price check. 77 processors do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

54 processors state a TDP. 13 processors state 65 W or less; the highest stated is 350 W. 77 processors do not state one.

CPUs for a small build

In a small case a graphics card is often the part that does not fit. A processor with integrated graphics drives the display by itself, so the Small build rule asks for integrated graphics stated in the listing.

28 processors of the 131 in this table meet the Small build rule printed beside the filter, from $142.00 to $719.99 at the last price check. 73 processors do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

How many cores do I need for programming?

For editing code and light builds, a few cores are enough. Large compiles, test suites and many containers use every core they get, which is why the Programming rule here asks for 8 or more cores or 16 or more threads. 90 processors in this table state 8 or more cores.

Do I need integrated graphics?

Only if you will not install a graphics card: without either, the PC has no display output. A processor with integrated graphics also lets you test or troubleshoot without a card. 28 processors in this table state integrated graphics. Source: Intel's processor numbers page

What does the F in an Intel model number mean?

Intel's processor numbers page defines the F suffix as "requires discrete graphics": the processor has no usable integrated graphics, so it needs a graphics card. Source: Intel's processor numbers page

Which socket should I pick?

The socket of the processor you choose decides the motherboard, so pick the processor first and match the board to it. The most common stated sockets here: LGA1200, 18; AM5, 14; AM4, 13; LGA1151, 13; LGA1700, 9.

What CPU is good for local AI?

The graphics card does most of the work; the processor needs enough cores to feed it and run the services around it. The AI & workstation rule here asks for 16 or more cores or a workstation line. 35 processors in this table state 16 or more cores.

What does TDP mean?

It is the maker's figure for the heat the cooler has to remove at the processor's base settings; a higher figure needs a larger cooler. 54 processors in this table state a TDP.

How this page is built

Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Processors priced under $140 are not listed, nor is a listing priced more than 3.5 times the middle price of its processor line. 131 processors are listed now.

Specs are what each seller states on its listing; Argusic has not tested these processors hands-on. A count is kept only when the listing states it as a number. Integrated graphics counts as yes only when the listing names it, and as no when the listing says a graphics card is needed or an Intel model number ends in F. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a processor whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.

The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.

This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Prices from other stores are read from the store's product feed once a day and are accurate as of the date/time indicated. The price and availability on the store's site at the time of purchase apply.

Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.

Discussion