Best drive enclosures for developers: NVMe, DAS and backups

Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

The external drive enclosures, docks and multi-bay DAS boxes in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by the job: a fast portable SSD for projects and VM images, several drives on one cable for backups and archives, RAID in the box, or a 40Gbps link. Filter by drive, link speed, bays, RAID and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.

Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter. Drives are not included in these prices.

Right now: 258 enclosures, each with a price read in the store's window, 257 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:49 PDT.

Top picks

Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.

  1. 19.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  2. 17.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  3. 13.59 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:47 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon

Listing 258 enclosures priced from $5. Colours of one product share a row.

Use for
The rules
  • Fast portable SSD: An M.2 NVMe enclosure with a stated link of 10Gbps or faster: a project, a VM image or a build cache you carry between machines. A 5Gbps link and enclosures for 2.5 or 3.5-inch drives are left out. A listing that does not state the drive or the link is not judged.
  • Multi-drive (DAS): Two or more drive bays in one box, for backups, archives or a media library on one cable. A single-bay box is left out. The bay count has to be stated.
  • Hardware RAID: RAID stated by the seller (RAID 0, 1 or more, built in the box). A listing that says "no RAID" or does not name RAID is not judged.
  • 40Gbps and faster: A stated link of 40Gbps or 80Gbps: Thunderbolt 3, 4 or 5, or USB4. A box whose stated link is slower is left out. A listing that states no link is not judged.
  • A enclosure whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows enclosures that meet both.
20 shown of 258 matching

Recommended: $20 to $40 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.

Drive enclosures

UGREEN USB C Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA SSD HDD

UGREEN

Drive: 2.5-inchLink: 10Gbps

Fast portable SSD: noMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • A cooling fan
  • 22% below the store's list price of $26.99
  • Sold by a third-party seller (UGREEN GROUP LIMITED), not by the store itself

20.98 USDsold by UGREEN GROUP LIMITEDin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

SABRENT USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Dock with Cooling Fan

SABRENT

Drive: 3.5-inchLink: 5Gbps

Fast portable SSD: noMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • A cooling fan
  • 5Gbps: the slowest link this table lists
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Store4PC), not by the store itself

31.95 USDsold by Store4PCin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

ACASIS 10Gbps M.2 NVMe & SATA SSD to USB Docking Station

FREEGENE

Drive: M.2Link: 10Gbps

Fast portable SSD: yesMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • Takes NVMe drives
  • 28% below the store's list price of $37.40
  • Sold by a third-party seller (ACASIS Direct US), not by the store itself

27.06 USDsold by ACASIS Direct USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:47 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Rosewill Cloner

Rosewill

Drive: M.2Link: 20GbpsBays: 2

Fast portable SSD: not statedMulti-drive (DAS): yesHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • 2 drive bays
  • 24% below the store's typical price of $49.99
  • Sold by the store itself

37.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

UGREEN External Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5/3.5-Inch SATA HDD/SSD

UGREEN

Drive: 3.5-inchLink: 5Gbps

Fast portable SSD: noMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • 25% below the store's list price of $39.99
  • 5Gbps: the slowest link this table lists
  • Sold by a third-party seller (UGREEN GROUP LIMITED), not by the store itself

29.99 USDsold by UGREEN GROUP LIMITEDin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

ORICO Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station Hard Drive Cloner

ORICO

Drive: 3.5-inchBays: 2

Fast portable SSD: noMulti-drive (DAS): yesHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: not stated

  • 2 drive bays
  • 30% below the store's list price of $39.99
  • Sold by a third-party seller (ORICO Direct US Store), not by the store itself

27.99 USDsold by ORICO Direct US Storein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Sokiwi 10Gbps M.2 NVMe SATA SSD Enclosure Adapter

Sokiwi

Drive: M.2Link: 10Gbps

Fast portable SSD: yesMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • Takes NVMe drives
  • 5% below the store's typical price of $25.70
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Sokiwi), not by the store itself

24.41 USDsold by Sokiwiin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

RSHTECH Hard Drive Enclosure

RSHTECH

Drive: 3.5-inchLink: 5Gbps

Fast portable SSD: noMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • 6% below the store's list price of $24.98
  • 5Gbps: the slowest link this table lists
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Vante Tech), not by the store itself

23.59 USDsold by Vante Techin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

ORICO Aluminum 3.5 Hard Drive Enclosure

ORICO

Drive: 3.5-inchLink: 10Gbps

Fast portable SSD: noMulti-drive (DAS): not statedHardware RAID: not stated40Gbps and faster: no

  • 13% below the store's list price of $39.99
  • Sold by a third-party seller (ORICO Direct US Store), not by the store itself

34.99 USDsold by ORICO Direct US Storein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:48 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Best drive enclosures for a fast portable SSD

An NVMe SSD in a pocket enclosure carries a repository, a dataset, a VM image or a build cache between a desktop and a laptop. The enclosure's link to the computer sets the ceiling, so the speed it states matters more than anything else on the box.

107 enclosures of the 258 in this table meet the Fast portable SSD rule printed beside the filter, from $8.39 to $297.49 at the last price check. 48 enclosures do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Link speed: 5, 10, 20, 40 or 80Gbps

Per the USB Implementers Forum, USB 3.2 has three transfer rates, 5Gbps, 10Gbps and 20Gbps, the last over two lanes of 10Gbps. Thunderbolt and USB4 enclosures state 40Gbps or 80Gbps. Both ends count: a 40Gbps enclosure on a 10Gbps port runs at 10Gbps. This table reads the speed from the title only, because bullets list every port a box "works with".

Stated link speeds in this table: 80Gbps, 4; 40Gbps, 15; 20Gbps, 5; 10Gbps, 111; 5Gbps, 58. 65 enclosures do not state a link speed.

Drive: M.2, 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch

M.2 enclosures take the small stick SSDs; check NVMe or SATA, because many take only one kind. 2.5-inch enclosures take laptop drives and SATA SSDs; 3.5-inch ones take desktop hard drives.

Stated drives in this table: M.2, 135; 2.5-inch, 49; 3.5-inch, 45. 29 enclosures do not state the drive it takes. 131 enclosures in this table state NVMe.

Multi-drive enclosures (DAS)

A multi-bay box (DAS, direct-attached storage) puts several drives on one cable to one computer: backups, archives, a media library, or the drives of a small server. Unlike a NAS it has no network port of its own; the computer it hangs on shares it.

31 enclosures of the 258 in this table meet the Multi-drive (DAS) rule printed beside the filter, from $26.12 to $1,499.00 at the last price check. 227 enclosures do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

31 enclosures in this table state two or more bays. The most stated is 12. 227 enclosures do not state a bay count.

Enclosures with hardware RAID

RAID in the box joins the drives before the computer sees them: RAID 0 adds their speed and size together and loses everything if one drive fails, RAID 1 mirrors one drive on the other. A mirror is not a backup: a deleted file is deleted on both drives.

8 enclosures of the 258 in this table meet the Hardware RAID rule printed beside the filter, from $26.99 to $369.00 at the last price check. 250 enclosures do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

8 enclosures in this table state RAID.

Thunderbolt and USB4 enclosures

A 40Gbps or 80Gbps enclosure needs a Thunderbolt or USB4 port on the computer to run at that speed; on an older USB port it falls back to that port's speed.

19 enclosures of the 258 in this table meet the 40Gbps and faster rule printed beside the filter, from $41.77 to $1,499.00 at the last price check. 65 enclosures do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

19 enclosures in this table state a 40Gbps or 80Gbps link.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

What enclosure is best for a portable SSD?

An M.2 NVMe enclosure with a stated link of 10Gbps or faster, on a port of the same speed: that is the Fast portable SSD rule printed beside the filter. 131 enclosures in this table state NVMe.

What do 5Gbps, 10Gbps and 20Gbps mean on a USB enclosure?

They are the three USB 3.2 transfer rates; 20Gbps runs over two lanes of 10Gbps. The slower end of the cable sets the speed. Stated speeds here: 80Gbps, 4; 40Gbps, 15; 20Gbps, 5; 10Gbps, 111; 5Gbps, 58. Source: the USB Implementers Forum

Does a 40Gbps enclosure work on a normal USB port?

It works, at the speed of that port. The 40Gbps or 80Gbps link needs a Thunderbolt or USB4 port on the computer.

Enclosure or NAS?

An enclosure hangs on one computer by a cable; a NAS sits on the network and serves every device, and runs services of its own. For backups of one machine an enclosure is enough. 31 enclosures in this table state two or more bays.

Are drives included in these prices?

No. These are enclosures and docks sold without drives; the price is for the box.

How this page is built

Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Enclosures priced under $5 are not listed, and neither are listings priced far above enclosures for the same drive (more than 75 times their median), caddies, trays, brackets and carrying cases. 258 enclosures are listed now.

Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these enclosures hands-on and measured no speed. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and an enclosure whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.

The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.

This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.

Discussion

Best drive enclosures for NVMe, USB4, RAID and DAS | Argusic