Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The internal drives in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what you will keep on them: repositories and containers, model weights and datasets, a game library, a handheld PC, an older laptop, or a NAS. Filter by interface, capacity, form factor, PCIe generation and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.
Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs and speeds are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 158 drives, each with a price read in the store's window, 157 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 10:05 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 158 drives priced from $75. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Programming: An NVMe SSD of 1 TB or more, for repositories, containers and build caches. SATA and SAS drives, drives under 1 TB and data-center drives (which need a server backplane or an adapter) are left out. Interface and capacity have to be stated.
Local AI & datasets: An NVMe SSD of 2 TB or more, for model weights and datasets. SATA and SAS drives and drives under 2 TB are left out. Interface and capacity have to be stated.
Gaming: An NVMe SSD with PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 stated. PCIe 3.0 drives, SATA drives and data-center drives are left out. Interface and PCIe generation have to be stated.
Handheld & mini PC: An M.2 2230 or 2242 drive, the short lengths handheld PCs and many small laptops and mini PCs take. M.2 2280 and longer, and 2.5-inch drives, are left out. The length has to be stated.
2.5-inch upgrade: A 2.5-inch SATA SSD, the size and connector of a laptop hard drive, for an older laptop or desktop with no M.2 slot. M.2 and NVMe drives are left out. Form and interface have to be stated.
NAS & home lab: The title sells the drive as a NAS drive or a data-center (enterprise) drive. A listing that does not say so is not judged.
A drive whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows drives that meet both.
20 shown of 158 matching
Recommended: $350 to $600 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
A development machine reads and writes many small files: dependency folders, build output, container images, package caches, a local database. The Programming rule asks for an NVMe SSD of 1 TB or more, so the working set stays on the fast drive with room to spare.
92 drives of the 158 in this table meet the Programming rule printed beside the filter, from $146.99 to $1,682.46 at the last price check. 9 drives do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
NVMe or SATA
An NVMe drive talks to the processor over PCIe lanes; a SATA drive uses the older SATA link. Per Wikipedia's SATA article, third-generation SATA runs at 6.0 Gbit/s, which leaves a maximum of 600 MB/s of data, so no SATA drive reads faster than that. NVMe drives are not held to that ceiling.
In this table: 107 NVMe drives and 41 SATA drives. 10 drives do not state an interface. By stated read speed, the fastest SATA drive here states 560 MB/s and the fastest NVMe drive 14,900 MB/s.
PCIe generation and read speed
Per Wikipedia's PCI Express article, PCIe 4.0 doubles the bandwidth of PCIe 3.0, and a newer device in an older slot falls back to the older generation's bandwidth: a PCIe 5.0 drive in a 4.0 slot runs at 4.0 speed. Check which generation your motherboard's M.2 slots support. The read speeds on this page are the seller's sequential figures, the best case for large files.
Stated PCIe generations here: 15 PCIe 5.0, 66 PCIe 4.0, 11 PCIe 3.0. 66 drives do not state one.
DRAM cache
Some SSDs carry a DRAM chip that holds the map of where data sits on the flash; DRAM-less drives keep that map in flash or borrow a little of the computer's memory (Host Memory Buffer). Few listings say which they are. In this table 2 titles state a DRAM cache and none states DRAM-less.
SSDs for local AI and datasets
Model weights and datasets are large files that load in long sequential reads, the case the stated read speed describes best. The Local AI & datasets rule asks for an NVMe SSD of 2 TB or more. For which models fit a graphics card or a machine, see /hardware.
77 drives of the 158 in this table meet the Local AI & datasets rule printed beside the filter, from $215.97 to $32,414.43 at the last price check. 7 drives do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
92 drives in this table hold 2 TB or more, any interface.
SSDs for gaming
For a PC game library, the Gaming rule asks for an NVMe drive with PCIe 4.0 or 5.0. For a PS5, PlayStation's M.2 SSD guide for the PS5 asks for a PCI-Express Gen4x4 M.2 NVMe SSD of 250 GB to 8 TB, recommends 5,500 MB/s or faster, and requires a cooling structure such as a heatsink.
76 drives of the 158 in this table meet the Gaming rule printed beside the filter, from $96.99 to $1,682.46 at the last price check. 23 drives do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
SSDs for handhelds and mini PCs
The four digits after M.2 are the module's size: 22 mm wide and 30, 42, 60, 80 or 110 mm long (the lengths PlayStation's guide lists). Desktops and most laptops take 2280; handheld PCs and some small laptops and mini PCs take the short 2230 or 2242. Check the device's manual for the length its slot takes.
3 drives of the 158 in this table meet the Handheld & mini PC rule printed beside the filter, from $439.00 to $739.50 at the last price check. 39 drives do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Stated M.2 lengths here: 75 at 2280, 2 at 2242 and 1 at 2230. 23 M.2 drives do not state a length in the title.
2.5-inch SATA SSDs for an older laptop or PC
A laptop or desktop with no M.2 slot can still move from a hard drive to an SSD: a 2.5-inch SATA SSD has the size and connector of a laptop hard drive. A desktop needs a 2.5-inch bay or an adapter bracket.
39 drives of the 158 in this table meet the 2.5-inch upgrade rule printed beside the filter, from $75.99 to $1,479.99 at the last price check. 7 drives do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Drives for a NAS or home lab
A NAS or home-lab server writes around the clock, so makers sell drives rated for it: NAS drives for network storage boxes, and data-center (enterprise) drives in server form factors such as U.2, U.3, E1.S and E3.S, which need a matching backplane or adapter rather than a desktop M.2 slot.
9 drives of the 158 in this table meet the NAS & home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $685.99 to $32,414.43 at the last price check. 149 drives do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
In this table 2 titles sell NAS drives and 7 titles sell data-center drives.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What size SSD do I need for programming?
The Programming rule here asks for an NVMe SSD of 1 TB or more, for repositories, containers and build caches. 92 drives in this table meet it.
Is NVMe faster than SATA?
It can be: third-generation SATA tops out at 600 MB/s of data, and NVMe drives over PCIe are not held to that ceiling. The fastest NVMe drive in this table states 14,900 MB/s. Source: Wikipedia's SATA article
Does a PCIe 5.0 SSD work in a PCIe 4.0 slot?
Yes, at the older generation's bandwidth: it runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. Check which generation your board's M.2 slots support. This table has 15 PCIe 5.0 drives and 66 PCIe 4.0 drives. Source: Wikipedia's PCI Express article
What SSD does a PS5 need?
Sony asks for a PCI-Express Gen4x4 M.2 NVMe SSD of 250 GB to 8 TB, recommends 5,500 MB/s or faster, and requires a heatsink or other cooling structure. Source: PlayStation's M.2 SSD guide for the PS5
What do 2230, 2242 and 2280 mean on an M.2 SSD?
The module's width and length in millimeters: 22 mm wide, 30, 42 or 80 mm long. Handheld PCs and some small laptops take 2230 or 2242; desktops and most laptops take 2280. Source: PlayStation's M.2 SSD guide for the PS5
Should I buy a NAS drive for a home server?
A drive sold for NAS or data-center use is rated for the constant writes of a server. Data-center drives often use U.2, U.3 or E1.S connectors that need an adapter. 9 drives here are sold that way.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Drives priced under $75 are not listed, nor a listing priced more than ten times the median of drives of the same capacity (a reseller price, not the drive's). 158 drives are listed now.
Specs and speeds are what each seller states on its listing; Argusic has not tested these drives hands-on. Capacities are decimal, as drives are sold: 1 TB is 1,000 GB. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a drive whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Prices from other stores are read from the store's product feed once a day and are accurate as of the date/time indicated. The price and availability on the store's site at the time of purchase apply.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.