Best Wi-Fi routers for remote work and coding

Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

The Wi-Fi routers and mesh systems in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what the network has to carry: a working day of calls and pushes from home, a home lab, gaming, or Wi-Fi for a large home. Filter by Wi-Fi standard, LAN ports, VPN server, multi-gig and 10G ports, mesh and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.

Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.

Right now: 171 routers, each with a price read in the store's window, 167 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT.

Top picks

Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.

  1. Deco 7 BE25 Dual-Band BE5000 WiFi 7 Mesh Wi-Fi System 5 Gbps

    Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists

    159.98 USD (as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  2. GL.iNet GL-MT3000 Beryl AX Wi-Fi 6 Travel Router

    A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)

    98.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  3. 61.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon

Listing 171 routers priced from $50. Colours of one product share a row.

Use for
The rules
  • Remote work: Wi-Fi 6 or newer, and either 2 or more stated LAN ports for a wired desk or a stated VPN server for reaching the home network from outside. Wi-Fi 5 routers are left out. A listing that states neither the ports nor a VPN server is not judged.
  • Home lab: Stated OpenWrt firmware, a stated 10G port, or a stated VPN server together with a multi-gig (2.5G or faster) port. A listing that states none of these is not judged.
  • Gaming: Sold as a gaming router: the title says gaming, ROG, game accelerator or game boost. A listing that does not say so is not judged.
  • Large home Wi-Fi: A stated coverage over 4,000 sq ft, or a mesh system of two or more units in the box. A stated coverage of 4,000 sq ft or less (outside a multi-unit mesh) and travel routers are left out.
  • A router whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows routers that meet both.
20 shown of 171 matching

Recommended: $220 to $550 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.

Wi-Fi routers

Amazon eero 6+ mesh wifi system

eero

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 6Coverage: 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: yes

  • Sold by the store itself

439.98 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Amazon eero 6+ mesh wifi system

eero

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 6Coverage: 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: yes

  • Sold by the store itself

299.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Amazon eero Pro 7 tri-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router

eero

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandCoverage: Up to 2,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • Sold by the store itself

299.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Amazon eero 7 dual-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router

eero

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Dual-bandCoverage: 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: yes

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • Sold by the store itself

399.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

NETGEAR Orbi 370 Series WiFi 7 Mesh System

NETGEAR

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Coverage: 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: yes

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • 14% below the store's list price of $349.99
  • Sold by the store itself

299.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Amazon eero 7 dual-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router

eero

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Dual-bandCoverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: yes

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • Sold by the store itself

284.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

NETGEAR Nighthawk WiFi 7 Router RS600

NETGEAR

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandCoverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ftLAN ports: 4

Remote work: yesHome lab: yesGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A 10G port
  • 4 LAN ports for wired devices

499.87 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

ASUS RT-BE9700 WiFi 7 Router

ASUS

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandCoverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: yesGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A 10G port
  • Sold by the store itself

249.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

NETGEAR Nighthawk WiFi 7 Router RS500

NETGEAR

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Coverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ftLAN ports: 3

Remote work: yesHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • Sold by the store itself

399.00 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

ASUS RT-BE90U WiFi 7 Router

ASUS

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandCoverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • Sold by the store itself

239.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

TP-Link Tri-Band BE18000 WiFi 7 Router

TP-Link

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandLAN ports: 4

Remote work: yesHome lab: yesGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: not stated

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A 10G port
  • 4 LAN ports for wired devices

299.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Amazon eero Outdoor 7 PoE mesh wifi router

eero

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Coverage: Over 6,000 sq ft

Remote work: not statedHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: yes

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • Sold by the store itself

349.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:27 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

NETGEAR Nighthawk WiFi 7 Router

NETGEAR

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandCoverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ftLAN ports: 4

Remote work: yesHome lab: not statedGaming: not statedLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • 4 LAN ports for wired devices

249.00 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

ASUS ROG Strix GS-BE12000 WiFi 7 Gaming Router

ASUS

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7Bands: Tri-bandCoverage: 2,001 to 4,000 sq ftLAN ports: 7

Remote work: yesHome lab: not statedGaming: yesLarge home Wi-Fi: no

  • Wi-Fi 7: the newest standard this table lists
  • A multi-gig port (2.5G or faster)
  • 7 LAN ports for wired devices

318.99 USDsold by Amazonin stock(as of 10/19/2026 02:28 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Best Wi-Fi routers for remote work

Working from home puts a router under a steady load all day: video calls, a VPN to work, pushes and pulls, container images and package downloads. Two things decide most of it: a cable to the desk where you work, and a way to reach the home network when you are away from it. The Wi-Fi standard matters for every device that cannot take a cable.

47 routers of the 171 in this table meet the Remote work rule printed beside the filter, from $54.99 to $1,349.93 at the last price check. 115 routers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

LAN ports: a cable to the desk

A LAN port takes a cable to a computer, a dock, a NAS or a second access point. A wired desk does not share airtime with the rest of the house, so a call or a large download there does not depend on the Wi-Fi. A port marked WAN/LAN can be either the internet line or a LAN port, so it is not counted as LAN here.

23 routers in this table state 2 or more LAN ports. The most stated is 7. 145 routers do not state a LAN port count.

VPN server: reaching home from outside

A router that runs a VPN server lets your laptop connect back into the home network from a cafe or a hotel, to reach a NAS, a test machine or a printer as if you were at home. A VPN client is the other direction: the router sends its own traffic through someone else's VPN. Listings often say only "VPN"; this table counts a VPN server only where the listing says server. WireGuard, one of the protocols these routers name, describes itself as a fast and modern VPN.

34 routers in this table state a VPN server.

Wi-Fi standard

Per the Wi-Fi Alliance, Wi-Fi 6 brought Wi-Fi to the 6 GHz band beside 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, and Wi-Fi 7 adds 320 MHz channels in the 6 GHz band, with twice the throughput of Wi-Fi 6. A laptop gets those gains only if its own Wi-Fi card supports the same standard.

Stated Wi-Fi standards in this table: Wi-Fi 7, 85; Wi-Fi 6E, 12; Wi-Fi 6, 52; Wi-Fi 5, 9. 13 routers do not state one.

Routers for a home lab

A home lab asks more of the router than a home does: fast links to a NAS or a server, custom firmware, and a way in from outside. Per the OpenWrt Project, OpenWrt is a Linux operating system for embedded devices with a fully writable filesystem and package management, so you can add software to the router instead of living with what the vendor ships.

54 routers of the 171 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $55.98 to $2,299.98 at the last price check. 117 routers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

11 routers in this table state OpenWrt firmware. 31 routers in this table state a 10G port. 87 routers in this table state a multi-gig port (2.5G or faster).

Routers for gaming

The gaming label is the seller's own: this table marks a router as gaming only where the title says gaming, ROG, game accelerator or game boost. The same cable to the desk that helps a call helps a game.

15 routers of the 171 in this table meet the Gaming rule printed beside the filter, from $61.99 to $659.99 at the last price check. 156 routers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

15 routers in this table state gaming in the title.

Wi-Fi for a large home

A mesh system puts two or more units around the house that act as one network with one name. Coverage figures are the seller's own, stated for the box as sold; Argusic did not measure any of them.

64 routers of the 171 in this table meet the Large home Wi-Fi rule printed beside the filter, from $65.99 to $2,299.98 at the last price check. 71 routers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

111 routers in this table state a mesh system. Stated coverage in this table: Up to 2,000 sq ft, 9; 2,001 to 4,000 sq ft, 18; 4,001 to 6,000 sq ft, 14; Over 6,000 sq ft, 25. 105 routers do not state a coverage.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

What router is best for working from home?

One with a cable to your desk and a way back in when you travel: 2 or more LAN ports, or a VPN server, on Wi-Fi 6 or newer. That is the Remote work rule printed beside the filter. 23 routers in this table state 2 or more LAN ports.

Is Wi-Fi 7 worth it over Wi-Fi 6?

The Wi-Fi Alliance says Wi-Fi 7 adds 320 MHz channels in the 6 GHz band, with twice the throughput of Wi-Fi 6. Your laptop and phone need Wi-Fi 7 too to use them. Stated standards here: Wi-Fi 7, 85; Wi-Fi 6E, 12; Wi-Fi 6, 52; Wi-Fi 5, 9. Source: the Wi-Fi Alliance

What is the difference between a VPN server and a VPN client on a router?

A VPN server lets your devices connect back into the home network from outside. A VPN client sends the router's own traffic through another VPN service. This table counts a VPN server only where the listing says server. 34 routers in this table state one.

What is OpenWrt?

The OpenWrt Project describes it as a Linux operating system targeting embedded devices, with a fully writable filesystem and package management. 11 routers in this table state OpenWrt firmware. Source: the OpenWrt Project

Do I need a multi-gig or 10G port?

Only if something on either side of it is faster than gigabit: an internet plan, a NAS or a desktop with a 2.5G or 10G network card. Otherwise a gigabit port is the limit either way. 87 routers in this table state a multi-gig port. 31 routers in this table state a 10G port.

Mesh system or a single router?

A single router suits a home its coverage reaches; a mesh system adds units around a larger or many-walled home under one network name. 111 routers in this table state a mesh system.

How this page is built

Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Routers priced under $50 are not listed. 171 routers are listed now.

Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these routers hands-on and measured no speed or coverage. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a router whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.

The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.

This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.

Discussion