Best SFP modules for home labs and developers

Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

The SFP, SFP+, SFP28 and QSFP modules and direct attach cables in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by the link you need: 10G between a home-lab switch and a server, a short cable inside the rack, a fiber run between rooms, or an RJ45 port in an SFP+ cage. Filter by form factor, speed, medium, reach, the gear the seller names as compatible and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.

Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs and compatibility are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.

Right now: 428 modules, each with a price read in the store's window, 410 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:35 PDT.

Top picks

Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.

  1. 16.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  2. 12.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:34 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  3. 29.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon

Listing 428 modules priced from $10. Colours of one product share a row.

Use for
The rules
  • 10G home lab: An SFP+ or SFP28 module or cable, at a stated 10G or 25G (or no speed stated), the cages home-lab switches and network cards use for 10G links. 1G SFP and 40G or faster QSFP modules are left out. A listing that names no form factor is not judged.
  • In-rack link: A direct attach copper (DAC) or active optical (AOC) cable: modules fixed to both ends of one cable, for a switch, server or NAS in the same rack or desk. Separate optics and RJ45 modules are left out. A listing that does not say what carries the signal is not judged.
  • Between rooms (fiber): A fiber optic module (multimode or single-mode), for a run between rooms or buildings with a fiber cable you choose. DAC and AOC cables and RJ45 modules are left out. A listing that does not say what carries the signal is not judged.
  • RJ45 to Ethernet cable: An RJ45 module (10GBASE-T or 1000BASE-T), so a copper Ethernet cable plugs into an SFP or SFP+ cage. Fiber modules and DAC or AOC cables are left out. A listing that does not say what carries the signal is not judged.
  • Ubiquiti UniFi: The title names Ubiquiti or UniFi gear as compatible, or the module is Ubiquiti's own. The seller's claim, not a test. A listing that does not name Ubiquiti is not judged.
  • A module whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows modules that meet both.
20 shown of 428 matching

Recommended: $50 to $180 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.

SFP modules

10Pack 10GBase-LR SFP+ Transceiver

6COM

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Single-mode fiberReach m: 20,000

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 20 km
  • 10 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (6COM), not by the store itself

100.69 USDsold by 6COMin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Pack 10GBase-LR SFP+ Transceiver

6COM

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Single-mode fiberReach m: 10,000

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 10 km
  • 10 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (6COM), not by the store itself

99.99 USDsold by 6COMin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Gtek 10GBase-SR SFP+ LC Transceiver

10Gtek

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Multimode fiberReach m: 300

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 300 m
  • 4 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (10Gtek), not by the store itself

58.00 USDsold by 10Gtekin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

H!Fiber 10 Pack 10G Multimode SFP+ LC Module

H!Fiber.com

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Multimode fiberReach m: 300

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 300 m
  • 10 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (HiFiber), not by the store itself

86.99 USDsold by HiFiberin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:34 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Gtek 1.25G SFP 1000Base-SX Multimode LC Fiber Transceiver

10Gtek

Form: SFPGbps: 1Medium: Multimode fiberReach m: 550

10G home lab: noIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP at 1G
  • Stated reach 550 m
  • 8 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (10Gtek), not by the store itself

64.00 USDsold by 10Gtekin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

H!Fiber 10Gb SFP+ RJ45 Transceiver

H!Fiber.com

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: RJ45 copperReach m: 30

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): noRJ45 to Ethernet cable: yesUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 30 m
  • 2 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (HiFiber), not by the store itself

56.99 USDsold by HiFiberin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:34 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

QINIYEK 4-Pack 10G SFP+ to RJ45 Module

QINIYEK

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: RJ45 copperReach m: 30

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): noRJ45 to Ethernet cable: yesUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 30 m
  • 4 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (QINIYEK), not by the store itself

90.49 USDsold by QINIYEKin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:35 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

[4 Pack]1.25/2.5/5/10G SFP+ to RJ45 Transceiver

QINIYEK

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: RJ45 copperReach m: 30

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): noRJ45 to Ethernet cable: yesUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 30 m
  • 4 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (QINIYEK), not by the store itself

89.99 USDsold by QINIYEKin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

4Pack SFP+ 10GBase-LR LC Module

GESD

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Single-mode fiberReach m: 20,000

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 20 km
  • 4 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (GESD Pleasure), not by the store itself

54.41 USDsold by GESD Pleasurein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:34 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Pack 10GBase-SR SFP+ Transceiver

VFLTOOL

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Multimode fiberReach m: 300

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 300 m
  • 10 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (VFLTOOL), not by the store itself

134.41 USDsold by VFLTOOLin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

4Pack 10GBase-SR SFP+ Transceiver

VFLTOOL

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Multimode fiberReach m: 300

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 300 m
  • 4 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (VFLTOOL), not by the store itself

59.41 USDsold by VFLTOOLin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:34 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

4Pack SFP+ to RJ45 10Gb

QSFPTEK

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: RJ45 copperReach m: 30

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): noRJ45 to Ethernet cable: yesUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 30 m
  • 4 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (QSFPTEK Store), not by the store itself

99.99 USDsold by QSFPTEK Storein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:34 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10GBase-T SFP+ to RJ-45 Transceiver

GIQITCK

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: RJ45 copperReach m: 30

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): noRJ45 to Ethernet cable: yesUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 30 m
  • 2 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (GIQITCK), not by the store itself

53.99 USDsold by GIQITCKin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

10Pack 10G SFP+ LC Module

GESD

Form: SFP+Gbps: 10Medium: Multimode fiberReach m: 400

10G home lab: yesIn-rack link: noBetween rooms (fiber): yesRJ45 to Ethernet cable: noUbiquiti UniFi: yes

  • SFP+ at 10G
  • Stated reach 400 m
  • 10 in the box
  • Sold by a third-party seller (GESD Pleasure), not by the store itself

137.41 USDsold by GESD Pleasurein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Best SFP modules for a 10G home lab

Home-lab switches and network cards with fast uplinks usually have SFP+ cages, the 10G form that Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet covers. The module has to match the cage: an SFP+ module in an SFP+ cage on both ends of the link, with the same kind of fiber, or one direct attach cable with both ends built in. A QSFP module is a wider form and does not fit an SFP+ cage.

216 modules of the 428 in this table meet the 10G home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $11.99 to $12,937.00 at the last price check.

Form factor and speed

SFP, SFP+ and SFP28 modules share one size and QSFP modules are wider; the speed each listing states is in the Speed filter. This table reads the form from the listing, and a module named only "SFP" that states 10G is counted as SFP+.

Form factors stated in this table: SFP, 54; SFP+, 202; SFP28, 14; QSFP+, 23; QSFP28, 125; QSFP56+, 10.

Vendor coding

Some switches accept only modules that identify themselves as the switch maker's own; others take any module that meets the standard. Sellers of third-party modules name the gear they say a module works with. That claim is the seller's; check your switch maker's own list where it publishes one.

115 modules in this table name Ubiquiti or UniFi gear. 79 modules in this table name MikroTik. 174 modules in this table name Cisco or Meraki. 50 modules in this table name TP-Link or Omada.

DAC and AOC cables for an in-rack link

A direct attach copper (DAC) cable is two modules joined by a thin copper cable, sold as one part. Per Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet, these cables suit very short distances, within a rack and across adjacent racks, and Cisco sells passive ones from 1 to 5 meters and active ones at 7 and 10 meters. An active optical cable (AOC) is the same idea with fiber inside, for a little more length.

124 modules of the 428 in this table meet the In-rack link rule printed beside the filter, from $11.99 to $295.00 at the last price check. 28 modules do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

What carries the signal, as stated in this table: Multimode fiber, 84; Single-mode fiber, 132; DAC cable, 109; AOC cable, 15; RJ45 copper, 60. 28 modules do not state it.

Fiber modules for a run between rooms

For a run between rooms or buildings, a fiber module at each end and a fiber cable between them. Multimode modules (SR, SX, 850 nm) suit shorter runs; single-mode modules (LR, LX and longer reaches) suit long ones. Per Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet, a 10GBASE-SR module reaches up to 300 meters on OM3 multimode fiber and 400 meters on OM4, and a 10GBASE-LR module 10 kilometers on single-mode fiber. Both ends and the cable must be the same kind.

216 modules of the 428 in this table meet the Between rooms rule printed beside the filter, from $12.95 to $28,587.70 at the last price check. 28 modules do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

377 modules in this table state a reach or a cable length.

RJ45 modules for an Ethernet cable

An RJ45 module turns an SFP or SFP+ cage into an ordinary Ethernet port, for a switch with only SFP+ cages and a device with only RJ45. Per Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet, Cisco's 10GBASE-T SFP+ module runs 10G over Cat6A or better for up to 30 meters.

60 modules of the 428 in this table meet the RJ45 to Ethernet cable rule printed beside the filter, from $12.59 to $284.41 at the last price check. 28 modules do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Modules for Ubiquiti UniFi

Many home labs run Ubiquiti UniFi switches and gateways. This rule keeps the modules whose title names Ubiquiti or UniFi gear, or that are Ubiquiti's own. The compatibility claim is the seller's.

115 modules of the 428 in this table meet the Ubiquiti UniFi rule printed beside the filter, from $11.99 to $424.01 at the last price check. 313 modules do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

115 modules in this table name Ubiquiti or UniFi gear.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Which SFP module do I need for a 10G home lab?

An SFP+ module (or an SFP+ direct attach cable) for SFP+ cages, the same kind at both ends. That is the 10G home lab rule printed beside the filter. Form factors stated here: SFP, 54; SFP+, 202; SFP28, 14; QSFP+, 23; QSFP28, 125; QSFP56+, 10.

DAC cable or fiber modules?

A DAC cable for a short link in the same rack or on the same desk; fiber modules and a fiber cable for anything longer. Cisco's data sheet lists passive twinax cables from 1 to 5 meters and active ones at 7 and 10 meters. Source: Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet

Multimode or single-mode fiber?

Multimode (SR) for runs inside a building, single-mode (LR) for long runs. Cisco's data sheet gives up to 300 meters on OM3 multimode for 10GBASE-SR and 10 kilometers on single-mode for 10GBASE-LR. Both ends and the cable must match. Source: Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet

Can I use an RJ45 module in an SFP+ port?

Yes, a 10GBASE-T SFP+ module gives an SFP+ cage an RJ45 port. Cisco's data sheet gives up to 30 meters at 10G over Cat6A or better for its own module. Source: Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet

Will a third-party module work in my switch?

Some switches accept only modules coded as the maker's own; sellers name the gear they say a module works with, and that claim is theirs, not a test. 115 modules in this table name Ubiquiti or UniFi gear. 79 modules in this table name MikroTik.

Is the price per module?

The price is for the box as sold. Some listings are packs of two or more, so compare the count in the box. 108 modules in this table state a pack of two or more.

How this page is built

Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read, and it is the price of the box as sold. Modules priced under $10 are not listed. 428 modules are listed now.

The table lists SFP, SFP+, SFP28 and QSFP modules and cables: radio modules sold as transceivers, media converters and network cards are left out. Specs and compatibility are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these modules hands-on and measured no reach or speed. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a module whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.

The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.

This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.

Discussion

Best SFP modules for home labs: SFP+, DAC and fiber | Argusic