Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The wired network cards and adapters in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by the machine they go into: a server, NAS or virtualization host in a home lab, a desktop moving past gigabit, or a laptop with no slot to open. Filter by speed, port type (RJ45 or SFP), how the card connects, the controller and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.
Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 365 cards, each with a price read in the store's window, 356 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:33 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 365 network cards priced from $5. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Home lab and NAS: A stated speed of 10G or more, or 2.5G or faster on two or more ports, for a server, NAS or virtualization host. Cards slower than 2.5G, and single-port cards under 10G, are left out. A listing that states no speed is not judged.
Desktop multi-gig: A PCIe or M.2 card with a 2.5G or 5G port, or a 10G RJ45 port, to move a desktop past its gigabit port onto a multi-gig switch or router. USB, Thunderbolt and old PCI cards, gigabit cards, SFP cards and cards faster than 10G are left out.
Laptop or mini PC: Connects by USB or Thunderbolt, so it plugs into a laptop or mini PC with no slot to open. PCIe, M.2 and PCI cards are left out. A listing that does not say how it connects is not judged.
Virtualization (SR-IOV): SR-IOV stated by the seller, so one card can appear as several virtual devices to a hypervisor. A listing that does not state SR-IOV is not judged.
A network card whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows network cards that meet both.
20 shown of 365 matching
Recommended: $25 to $60 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
A home lab card goes into the machine that serves the rest: a NAS, a server, a virtualization host. Gigabit is the usual bottleneck there, because a backup, a VM image or a dataset copy fills it. The Home lab rule asks for 10G or more, or 2.5G or faster on two or more ports (one port for each network, or two bonded).
121 cards of the 365 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $6.86 to $6,297.50 at the last price check. 133 cards do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
RJ45 or SFP+
An RJ45 card takes an ordinary Ethernet cable. An SFP+ card takes a plug-in module or a direct attach cable, so the same card can run a short copper cable to a switch in the rack or a fiber run to another room. Per Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet, direct attach cables suit very short distances, and an RJ45 SFP+ module runs 10G over Cat6A for up to 30 meters. The modules and cables are on the SFP modules page.
Port types stated in this table: RJ45, 256; SFP, 4; SFP+, 24; SFP28, 19; QSFP, 12. 50 cards do not state a port type.
The controller chip
The controller is the chip that does the work, and it decides which drivers your operating system needs. Many cards are sold under a store brand with a known chip inside, so the listing's chip name says more than the brand. This table reads the chip only where the listing names it, by maker or by part number.
Controllers named in this table: Intel, 79; Realtek, 69; Mellanox, 24; Broadcom, 7; Marvell (Aquantia), 14; ASIX, 4. 168 cards do not state a controller.
Multi-gig cards for a desktop
Most desktop boards still come with one gigabit port. A 2.5G, 5G or 10G card in a PCIe or M.2 slot moves the desktop onto a multi-gig switch or router without a new board. It only helps if the other end is as fast: the switch port, the router and the NAS.
101 cards of the 365 in this table meet the Desktop multi-gig rule printed beside the filter, from $13.30 to $399.32 at the last price check. 11 cards do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Speeds stated in this table: Fast Ethernet (100 Mbps), 17; 1G, 88; 2.5G, 78; 5G, 17; 10G, 84; 25G, 21; 40G, 2; 100G, 6; 200G, 1; 400G, 3. 48 cards do not state a speed.
Adapters for a laptop or mini PC
A laptop or mini PC often has no Ethernet port at all, or only one. A USB or Thunderbolt adapter adds one with nothing to open. The adapter's own speed and the port it plugs into both count: a fast adapter on a slow USB port is held to the port.
162 cards of the 365 in this table meet the Laptop or mini PC rule printed beside the filter, from $5.09 to $999.99 at the last price check.
How the cards in this table connect: PCIe, 180; M.2, 20; USB, 160; Thunderbolt, 2; PCI, 3.
Cards for virtualization
Per the Linux kernel documentation, SR-IOV is a PCI Express capability that makes one physical device appear as several virtual devices. On a virtualization host that lets you hand a virtual network device to a guest. It needs support from the card, the board and the hypervisor; this table marks it only where the listing states SR-IOV.
32 cards of the 365 in this table meet the Virtualization (SR-IOV) rule printed beside the filter, from $35.99 to $5,018.00 at the last price check. 333 cards do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
32 cards in this table state SR-IOV.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What network card is best for a home lab?
One faster than the gigabit it replaces: 10G or more, or 2.5G or faster on two ports. That is the Home lab rule printed beside the filter. 117 cards in this table state 10G or more.
Should I buy an RJ45 or an SFP+ 10G card?
RJ45 if your switch has 10G copper ports and the cable is already in the wall. SFP+ if your switch has SFP+ cages: a direct attach cable for a short run, a fiber module for a long one. Cisco's data sheet gives 30 meters over Cat6A for a 10G RJ45 module. Source: Cisco's 10GBASE SFP+ data sheet
Which controller chip should I look for?
One your operating system has a driver for. The listing's chip name tells you more than the card's brand, and this table reads it where the listing names it. Named here: Intel, 79; Realtek, 69; Mellanox, 24; Broadcom, 7; Marvell (Aquantia), 14; ASIX, 4.
Will a 2.5G card make my internet faster?
Only if your internet plan and your router are faster than gigabit. Between a 2.5G card and a gigabit router, the link runs at gigabit.
What is SR-IOV?
The Linux kernel documentation describes it as a PCI Express capability that makes one physical device appear as multiple virtual devices. On a virtualization host, a virtual device can be handed to a guest. 32 cards in this table state SR-IOV. Source: the Linux kernel documentation
Will the card fit a small case?
Look for a low-profile bracket and a PCIe width your free slot takes: a x1 card fits any PCIe slot, and a x8 card needs a slot at least that wide unless the slot is open at the end. 108 cards in this table state a low-profile bracket.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Cards priced under $5 are not listed, and neither are listings priced 30 or more times the median of cards of the same stated speed. 365 cards are listed now.
The table lists wired Ethernet cards and adapters: Wi-Fi and Bluetooth cards, Fibre Channel and storage adapters, risers and cables are left out. Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these cards hands-on and measured no speed. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a card whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.
Discussion
Best network cards for home labs: 2.5G, 10G, SFP+ | Argusic