Best power supplies for programming and AI workstations
Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The PC power supplies in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what you will build: a workstation for code and local AI, a PC with a modern graphics card, a home server, or a small case. Filter by wattage, efficiency rating, cables, size, ATX version and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.
Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 131 power supplies, each with a price read in the store's window, 131 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 11:08 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 131 power supplies priced from $75. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
AI & workstation: 1,000 W or more with a Gold, Platinum or Titanium rating, as the listing states them, for room to grow. A supply stated below 1,000 W, or rated Bronze, is left out; one that does not state both is not judged.
Modern graphics card: A 12V-2x6 (or 12VHPWR) GPU cable or connector, or ATX 3.0 or 3.1, stated, at 750 W or more. A supply stated below 750 W is left out; one that states neither the connector nor the ATX version is not judged.
Home server: A Platinum or Titanium rating stated, so less power turns into heat in a machine that runs all day. Bronze and Gold are left out; a supply that states no rating is not judged.
Small build: An SFX or SFX-L supply, for a small case. ATX supplies are left out. The size has to be stated.
A power supply whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows power supplies that meet both.
20 shown of 131 matching
Recommended: $140 to $180 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
Best power supplies for programming and AI workstations
In a development or local AI machine the graphics card draws the most power, and a second card later draws more. The supply has to cover all of it with room to spare, so start from the wattage the graphics card maker asks for, then pick the efficiency rating and the cables.
64 power supplies of the 131 in this table meet the AI & workstation rule printed beside the filter, from $86.06 to $489.90 at the last price check. 3 power supplies do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Wattage
The wattage is the most the supply is rated to deliver. Add up what the graphics card and processor makers state for their parts, and check the graphics card maker's recommended supply wattage, which already allows for the rest of the system.
129 power supplies state a wattage, from 300 W to 1,600 W. 65 power supplies are rated 1,000 W or more. 2 power supplies do not state one.
Efficiency rating
Per Wikipedia's 80 Plus article, 80 Plus is a voluntary certification for computer power supplies, with levels in ascending order of efficiency: 80 Plus, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum and Titanium. A more efficient supply turns less of what it draws into heat. Some listings name a Cybenetics level with the same metal names; this table shows the first rating a listing names.
Stated ratings in this table: Titanium, 4; Platinum, 46; Gold, 76; Bronze, 4. 1 power supply does not state one of the four.
Modular cables
A fully modular supply lets you attach only the cables you use, which leaves more room for air in the case; a semi-modular one keeps the main cables attached; a non-modular one keeps every cable attached.
Stated cable styles in this table: Fully modular, 100; Semi-modular, 1; Non-modular, 2. 28 power supplies do not state one.
Power supplies for a modern graphics card
Per Wikipedia's 12VHPWR article, the 16-pin 12VHPWR connector powers graphics cards with up to 600 W, was first specified in ATX 3.0, and was revised as 12V-2x6 with PCIe CEM 5.1; ATX 3.1 says new supply designs should use only the 12V-2x6 connector. A supply that names the connector or ATX 3.0 or 3.1 is built for these cards.
106 power supplies of the 131 in this table meet the Modern graphics card rule printed beside the filter, from $79.90 to $489.90 at the last price check. 16 power supplies do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
97 power supplies in this table name a 12V-2x6 or 12VHPWR cable or connector. By the newest ATX version stated: 103 ATX 3.1 supplies and 5 ATX 3.0 supplies.
Power supplies for a home server
A home server runs all day, often at a small load. Every watt the supply loses becomes heat and shows up on the power bill, so the Home server rule asks for a Platinum or Titanium rating, the two highest of the four this table lists.
50 power supplies of the 131 in this table meet the Home server rule printed beside the filter, from $86.06 to $489.90 at the last price check. 1 power supply does not state enough to judge and is never counted as meeting it.
Power supplies for a small build
Small cases take SFX supplies (SFX-L is a slightly longer version), which are smaller than ATX. Check which sizes your case lists before you buy; some SFX supplies come with a bracket to fit an ATX case.
25 power supplies of the 131 in this table meet the Small build rule printed beside the filter, from $78.99 to $282.50 at the last price check. 11 power supplies do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
By stated size: 95 ATX supplies and 25 SFX or SFX-L supplies. 11 power supplies do not state one.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What wattage do I need for a programming PC?
Use the wattage the graphics card maker recommends for its card. For local AI with one or two high-end cards, the AI & workstation rule here asks for 1,000 W or more. 65 power supplies in this table are rated 1,000 W or more.
Is Gold enough, or do I need Platinum?
Both work. Per the 80 Plus levels, Platinum and Titanium are more efficient than Gold, so they lose less power as heat, which adds up in a machine that runs all day. Stated ratings in this table: Titanium, 4; Platinum, 46; Gold, 76; Bronze, 4. Source: Wikipedia's 80 Plus article
What is 12V-2x6?
The 16-pin power connector of recent graphics cards, a revision of 12VHPWR introduced with PCIe CEM 5.1; ATX 3.1 says new supply designs should use it. A supply with a native 12V-2x6 cable needs no adapter. 97 power supplies in this table name one. Source: Wikipedia's 12VHPWR article
Do I need an ATX 3.1 power supply?
Not for every PC, but for a graphics card with a 16-pin connector it is the simplest match, because ATX 3.1 supplies are designed around the 12V-2x6 connector. 103 power supplies in this table state ATX 3.1. Source: Wikipedia's 12VHPWR article
Fully modular or not?
Fully modular is easier to build with and leaves only the cables you use in the case. It does not change how much power the supply delivers.
Will an SFX supply fit an ATX case?
Often, with an SFX-to-ATX bracket; some supplies include one. An ATX supply does not fit a case that takes only SFX. 25 power supplies in this table are SFX or SFX-L.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Power supplies priced under $75 are not listed. 131 power supplies are listed now.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing; Argusic has not tested these supplies hands-on. A wattage is kept only when the listing states it in watts, and the power a GPU cable carries is never read as the supply's. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a supply whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Prices from other stores are read from the store's product feed once a day and are accurate as of the date/time indicated. The price and availability on the store's site at the time of purchase apply.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.
Discussion
Best power supplies for programming and AI builds | Argusic