Best RAM for programming, virtual machines and local AI
Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The DDR4 and DDR5 memory kits in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what you will run: an IDE with containers and virtual machines, local language models, games, or a laptop. Filter by kit capacity, generation, speed and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.
Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 194 memory kits, each with a price read in the store's window, 190 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 09:08 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 194 memory kits priced from $190. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Programming & VMs: A kit of 32 GB or more in total (all modules together), for an editor, a browser, containers and a virtual machine running side by side. Smaller kits are left out. The capacity has to be stated.
Local AI: A kit of 64 GB or more in total, for running language models in system memory next to your tools. Smaller kits are left out. The capacity has to be stated.
Gaming: DDR5 at 6,000 MT/s or faster with CL36 or lower, or DDR4 at 3,200 MT/s or faster with CL16 or lower. Type, speed and CAS latency have to be stated.
Laptop: SO-DIMM modules, or a kit the title states is for laptops or notebooks. Desktop DIMMs and server modules are left out. A listing that states neither is not judged.
A memory kit whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows memory kits that meet both.
20 shown of 194 matching
Recommended: $550 to $1,000 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
For development work, capacity decides more than speed. An editor, a browser full of documentation, a local database, a few containers and a virtual machine all hold memory at the same time, and when the total runs out the system starts swapping to disk. That is why the Programming & VMs rule asks for the whole kit's capacity first.
179 memory kits of the 194 in this table meet the Programming & VMs rule printed beside the filter, from $191.99 to $6,999.99 at the last price check.
Capacity: the kit, not the module
A listing names the kit's total and the modules it comes in: "32GB (2x16GB)" is 32 GB in two modules. The Kit capacity filter and every rule here read the total. Buying the total you want as one kit avoids mixing modules from different kits later.
Stated kit sizes in this table: 16 GB, 15; 32 GB, 121; 48 GB, 2; 64 GB, 42; 96 GB, 6; 128 GB, 7; 256 GB, 1. By module count: 12 single modules, 178 two-module kits and 4 kits of three or more.
DDR5 or DDR4: match the motherboard
DDR4 and DDR5 modules do not fit each other's slots, so the generation is set by the motherboard, not by preference. A current desktop board takes one or the other; check the board's listing or manual before you pick a kit. The motherboard hub lists the memory type each board states.
In this table: 158 DDR5 kits and 36 DDR4 kits.
Speed and CAS latency
Speed is stated in MT/s (often written as MHz): how many transfers a second each module makes. CAS latency (CL) is the delay in clock cycles before data comes back; lower is quicker at the same speed. Compare CL only within one generation, because DDR5 and DDR4 run at different clocks. A kit runs at its rated speed only when the board's XMP or EXPO profile is turned on; otherwise it runs at the base speed.
100 memory kits in this table state an AMD EXPO profile; the Advanced filters can show only those.
RAM for local AI
A language model run on the processor keeps its weights in system memory, so the kit's capacity sets the largest model you can load beside your other tools. The Local AI rule asks for 64 GB or more. For how much memory a model size needs and how fast it runs on a graphics card instead, see the graphics card hub and /hardware, which estimate it per model size.
56 memory kits of the 194 in this table meet the Local AI rule printed beside the filter, from $814.99 to $6,999.99 at the last price check.
RAM for gaming
The Gaming rule looks for a fast kit with a low latency in its generation: DDR5 at 6,000 MT/s or faster with CL36 or lower, or DDR4 at 3,200 MT/s or faster with CL16 or lower. Turn on the XMP or EXPO profile in the board's settings, or the kit runs slower than its label.
125 memory kits of the 194 in this table meet the Gaming rule printed beside the filter, from $199.99 to $6,999.99 at the last price check. 7 memory kits do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
RAM for laptops
Laptops and many mini PCs take SO-DIMM modules, which are shorter than desktop DIMMs and do not fit desktop slots, and the other way round. Many thin laptops have memory soldered to the board and no slot at all, so check the laptop's manual before you buy.
1 memory kit of the 194 in this table meets the Laptop rule printed beside the filter, at $348.27 at the last price check. 16 memory kits do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
By stated use: 172 kits for desktops and 1 SO-DIMM or laptop kit.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
How much RAM do I need for programming?
The Programming & VMs rule here asks for a kit of 32 GB or more, because an editor, a browser, containers and a virtual machine hold memory at the same time. 179 memory kits in this table meet it.
Is DDR5 better than DDR4 for coding?
Your motherboard decides: DDR4 and DDR5 modules do not fit each other's slots. For coding, the kit's capacity matters more than the generation. This table has 158 DDR5 kits and 36 DDR4 kits.
How much RAM do I need to run AI models locally?
The Local AI rule here asks for 64 GB or more. The model's size sets the real figure; /hardware and the graphics card hub estimate the memory each model size needs.
Is DDR5 on-die ECC the same as ECC memory?
No. On-die ECC corrects errors inside each DDR5 chip, adds no extra chips or data lines and does not report errors to the system; ECC memory does that at the module and processor level. Source: Wikipedia's DDR5 SDRAM article
Can I use desktop RAM in a laptop?
No. Laptops take the shorter SO-DIMM modules, desktops take DIMMs, and neither fits the other's slot. 1 memory kit here is stated as SO-DIMM or for laptops.
What do MT/s and CL mean on a memory kit?
MT/s is the transfer rate, how many transfers a second; CL is the CAS latency in clock cycles, lower being quicker at the same speed. Compare CL only within one generation.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. DDR4 and DDR5 kits that state their capacity are listed; kits priced under $190 are not. 194 memory kits are listed now.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing; Argusic has not tested these kits hands-on. Capacity is the whole kit. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a kit whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Prices from other stores are read from the store's product feed once a day and are accurate as of the date/time indicated. The price and availability on the store's site at the time of purchase apply.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.