Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The tower, rack and small servers in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by the job: a home lab for VMs and containers, a small office, virtualization, or files and backups. Filter by tower or rack, rack height, processor, cores, installed memory, drive bays, remote management and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.
Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 128 servers, each with a price read in the store's window, 118 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 09:06 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 128 servers priced from $950. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Home lab: 32 GB or more of stated installed memory, in a tower or in a rack server of 2U or less. Memory and form have to be stated, and a rack server whose height is not stated is not judged. Taller rack servers (3U and 4U) are left out.
Small office: A tower server (it stands on the floor, no rack needed) with 16 GB or more of stated installed memory. Rack servers are left out. Form and memory have to be stated.
Virtualization: 64 GB or more of stated installed memory and 8 or more processor cores in total (the cores of one processor, twice for a server stated as dual-processor). Memory and cores have to be stated; fewer cores count as no only when the processor count is stated too.
File and backup: 4 or more stated drive bays, room for a RAID set of disks. Fewer stated bays are left out; a listing that states no bay count is not judged.
A server whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows servers that meet both.
20 shown of 128 matching
Recommended: $3,200 to $5,000 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
A home lab is where a developer runs what does not fit on a laptop: a hypervisor with a few virtual machines, a Kubernetes cluster to break and rebuild, CI runners, a database copy, a media or file server. Memory is what runs out first, because every VM keeps its own share of it. Per Proxmox, Proxmox VE, a common choice for this, is an open-source platform that integrates the KVM hypervisor and Linux containers (LXC).
103 servers of the 128 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $1,089.99 to $66,589.00 at the last price check. 13 servers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Tower or rack (1U, 2U)
A tower stands on the floor or a shelf and needs no rack. A rack server is 19 inches wide and its height is counted in rack units: a 1U box is the thinnest, a 2U box leaves room for more drives and larger, usually quieter fans. Rack servers are built for a closet or a data center, so check the noise and the depth before one goes next to a desk.
41 servers in this table state a tower. 83 servers in this table state a rack server. 77 rack servers state a height of 2U or less. 4 servers do not state tower or rack.
Installed memory
The Home lab rule asks for 32 GB or more installed, enough for a hypervisor and a handful of VMs or containers. The figure is the memory the listing says is installed, not the most the board can take; a few listings print that maximum too.
108 servers in this table state 32 GB or more installed. Stated memory runs from 8 GB to 2,048 GB. 10 servers do not state the memory installed.
Remote management: iLO, iDRAC, IPMI
Server boards carry their own small management computer: HPE calls it iLO, Dell iDRAC, Supermicro and others IPMI. It lets you see the console, mount an install image and power the machine on or off from a browser, even when the operating system is down, so a server in a closet never needs a monitor and keyboard.
87 servers in this table state remote management.
Servers for a small office
A small office usually has no rack, so a tower is the easy fit: it stands under a desk or in a cupboard. The Small office rule asks for a tower with 16 GB or more installed, for file shares, a directory, backups and a few services.
39 servers of the 128 in this table meet the Small office rule printed beside the filter, from $2,203.82 to $66,359.00 at the last price check. 5 servers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Servers for virtualization
Many VMs at once need both memory and cores. The Virtualization rule asks for 64 GB or more installed and 8 or more cores in total; a dual-processor server counts the cores of both processors.
87 servers of the 128 in this table meet the Virtualization rule printed beside the filter, from $2,049.99 to $66,589.00 at the last price check. 15 servers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Stated processor families in this table: Intel Xeon, 111; AMD EPYC, 5; AMD Ryzen, 2; Intel Core, 5; Intel Atom, 1; Intel Pentium, 1; ARM, 1. 2 servers do not state a processor family. 87 servers in this table state two processors.
Servers for files and backups
A file or backup server is mostly drive bays. With 4 or more you can run a RAID set that survives a failed disk. SFF bays take 2.5 inch drives and LFF bays take 3.5 inch drives.
5 servers of the 128 in this table meet the File and backup rule printed beside the filter, from $2,850.00 to $55,000.00 at the last price check. 121 servers do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
5 servers in this table state 4 or more drive bays. 121 servers do not state a bay count.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What server is best for a home lab?
One with room for VMs and a form that fits your space: 32 GB or more installed, in a tower or a rack server of 2U or less. That is the Home lab rule printed beside the filter. 108 servers in this table state 32 GB or more installed.
Tower or rack server?
A tower needs no rack and is usually the quieter choice in a room people work in. A rack server suits a rack in a closet or a garage, and a 1U or 2U box leaves room for other gear. 41 servers in this table state a tower. 83 servers in this table state a rack server.
What is Proxmox VE?
Proxmox describes Proxmox Virtual Environment as a complete, open-source server management platform for enterprise virtualization that integrates the KVM hypervisor and Linux containers (LXC). Source: Proxmox
What are iLO, iDRAC and IPMI?
They are the remote management built into server boards, by HPE, Dell and others: a browser console, power control and virtual install media that work even when the operating system does not. 87 servers in this table state one.
Should I buy a refurbished server?
A refurbished (renewed) server is a used machine that a seller has checked and resold, so read that seller's warranty terms before you buy. This table marks a server as refurbished only where the title says renewed, refurbished or recertified. No server in this table states refurbished.
Do I need a 10G network port?
Only when something on the other end can use it: a NAS, a switch or a desktop with a 10G card. For a few VMs and a file share, gigabit is often enough. 11 servers in this table state a 10G or faster port.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Servers priced under $950 are not listed. 128 servers are listed now.
The table lists servers sold as a whole system. Parts sold in the same store category (rails, fans, memory, riser cards, licences, rack shelves, serial device servers) are left out, and so are NAS boxes and router appliances, which have their own tables.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these servers hands-on. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a server whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.
Discussion
Best servers for a home lab: tower and rack | Argusic