Best server racks for a home lab and a small office
Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The server racks and network cabinets in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what has to fit inside: a switch and a patch panel on a wall, a few mini PCs on a desk, or servers and a NAS in a closet. Filter by height in rack units, depth, rail width, open frame or enclosed cabinet, wall mount, casters and price, then read the buying guide below the table.
Shelves, rails, blanking plates, patch panels and other rack accessories are not listed: only whole racks. Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 160 racks, each with a price read in the store's window, 151 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:46 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 160 racks priced from $60. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Home lab: A 19-inch rack of 12U or more with a stated depth of 24 in or more, room for a switch, a patch panel and a short-depth server. A 10-inch rack, a height under 12U, a stated depth under 24 in and a wall bracket are left out. A listing that does not state the width, the height or the depth is not judged.
Wall mount: The title says the rack mounts on a wall (wall mount, wall-mounted, wall bracket). A rack sold on casters is left out. A listing that says neither is not judged.
10-inch mini rack: A stated 10-inch width, the small rack for mini PCs, a small switch and a router on a desk or a shelf. A stated 19-inch or 23-inch width is left out. A listing that does not state the width is not judged.
Enclosed cabinet: An enclosed cabinet in the title (cabinet, enclosure, enclosed, glass or locking door), which keeps dust out and the gear behind a door. Open frame racks and wall brackets are left out. A listing that states neither is not judged.
A rack whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows racks that meet both.
20 shown of 160 matching
Recommended: $250 to $1,050 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
A home lab rack holds a switch, a patch panel, a UPS and one or more servers or a rack NAS. Three numbers decide what fits: the height in rack units, the depth between the front and rear rails, and the rail width. The Home lab rule asks for a 19-inch rack of 12U or more with a stated depth of 24 in or more.
51 racks of the 160 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $129.90 to $2,006.75 at the last price check. 61 racks do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Height: rack units (U)
Per Wikipedia's rack unit article, a rack unit (U) is 1 3/4 inches (44.45 mm). A 1U switch takes one unit, a 2U server two. Count the gear you have, add a unit or two for a shelf and cable management, and leave room to grow.
158 racks in this table state a height. The stated heights run from 3U to 45U. 57 racks are 42U or taller. 2 racks do not state a height.
Depth: will a server fit
Depth is not fixed by the rack standard. Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article lists four-post racks commonly 600 mm (23.62 in), 800 mm (31.50 in) or 1,010 mm (39.76 in) deep. Check the depth of your deepest server against the stated mounting depth before you buy; a shallow network rack takes switches and patch panels, not servers.
96 racks in this table state a depth. 62 racks are stated at 24 in or deeper. 64 racks do not state a depth.
Open frame or enclosed cabinet
An open frame rack is posts and rails: easy to cable and to cool, with nothing between the gear and the room. Per Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article, open-frame racks are the least expensive kind. An enclosed cabinet adds side panels and doors, which keep dust out and can lock.
Stated types in this table: Open frame, 84; Enclosed cabinet, 64. 12 racks do not state a type.
Wall mount racks
A wall mount rack keeps a small office's switch, patch panel and router off the floor, usually in a closet or above a desk. Check the stated depth and load against your gear before you buy.
41 racks of the 160 in this table meet the Wall mount rule printed beside the filter, from $64.99 to $599.97 at the last price check. 42 racks do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
41 racks in this table state a wall mount. 85 racks in this table state casters in the box.
10-inch mini racks
Per Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article, standard rack gear has a front panel 19 inches wide, some networking gear comes in a narrower 10-inch format, and the 10-inch size is gaining popularity with hobbyists short on space. A 10-inch rack suits a few mini PCs, a small switch and a router on a desk; 19-inch servers do not fit it.
8 racks of the 160 in this table meet the 10-inch mini rack rule printed beside the filter, from $67.99 to $149.99 at the last price check. 34 racks do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Stated rail widths in this table: 19-inch, 116; 10-inch, 8; 23-inch, 2. 34 racks do not state a width.
Enclosed cabinets
An enclosed cabinet suits a rack that shares a room with people: doors keep dust out and curious hands off.
64 racks of the 160 in this table meet the Enclosed cabinet rule printed beside the filter, from $64.99 to $22,049.00 at the last price check. 12 racks do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What size server rack do I need for a home lab?
Count the rack units of your gear and add room to grow. The Home lab rule asks for 12U or more, 19-inch rails and a stated depth of 24 in or more. 158 racks in this table state a height.
How tall is 1U?
Wikipedia's rack unit article defines a rack unit as 1 3/4 inches (44.45 mm). A 12U rack therefore has 21 inches of mounting space. Source: Wikipedia's rack unit article
What is the difference between a 10-inch and a 19-inch rack?
The width of the gear's front panel. Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article says standard gear is 19 inches wide and some networking gear comes in a narrower 10-inch format, popular with hobbyists short on space. Stated widths here: 19-inch, 116; 10-inch, 8; 23-inch, 2. Source: Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article
How deep should a server rack be?
Deeper than your deepest server, with room for cables behind it. Wikipedia lists common four-post depths of 600 mm (23.62 in), 800 mm (31.50 in) and 1,010 mm (39.76 in). 96 racks in this table state a depth. Source: Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article
Open frame rack or enclosed cabinet?
An open frame is easier to cable and cool and, per Wikipedia, the least expensive kind; a cabinet keeps dust out and can lock. 148 racks in this table state a type. Source: Wikipedia's 19-inch rack article
Why are shelves and rails not in this table?
This table lists whole racks only. Shelves, rails, blanking plates, patch panels and other accessories share the store category but are not a rack.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Racks priced under $60 are not listed. 160 racks are listed now.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these racks hands-on and measured no depth or load. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a rack whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.
Discussion
Best server racks for a home lab: U, depth, width | Argusic