Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The office and gaming chairs in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what you will do in it: long hours writing code, office work, gaming, or a chair for a bigger body. Filter by lumbar support, armrests, cover, weight limit and price, then read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.
Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 599 chairs, each with a price read in the store's window, 591 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 11:08 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 599 chairs priced from $40. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Programmers: For long hours at a desk: adjustable lumbar support and armrests that adjust (1D to 4D or more, or stated as adjustable), both stated by the seller. Fixed, flip-up only or no armrests, or a separate lumbar pillow or cushion, do not qualify; a chair that does not state both is not counted.
Office: The seller names it an office, desk or task chair before any gaming word in the title. A chair named a gaming or racing chair first does not qualify.
Gaming: The seller names it a gaming, racing or e-sports chair before any office word in the title. A chair named an office or desk chair first does not qualify.
Big & tall: A stated weight limit of 350 lb or more (the median limit of the chairs whose title says "big and tall"). A lower stated limit does not qualify; a chair that does not state one is not counted.
A chair whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows chairs that meet both.
20 shown of 599 matching
Recommended: $100 to $150 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
A programmer's chair is a chair for long hours at a keyboard, so what matters is what you can adjust to fit your own back and arms. OSHA's computer workstations guide to chairs asks for a backrest that provides adequate lumbar support, a lumbar support that is height adjustable so it can be placed to fit the lower back, armrests that let the shoulders relax with the elbows close to the body, and a seat that is height adjustable.
31 chairs of the 599 in this table meet the Programmers rule printed beside the filter, from $72.99 to $769.00 at the last price check. 292 chairs do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Lumbar support: adjustable or a pillow
An adjustable lumbar support moves up and down (and on some chairs in and out) to meet the curve of your lower back. Many gaming chairs instead ship a separate lumbar pillow or cushion strapped to the backrest; the table lists the two apart, and the Programmers rule counts only the adjustable kind.
100 chairs in this table state an adjustable lumbar support and 148 chairs a lumbar pillow or cushion. 351 chairs do not state either.
Armrests: 2D, 3D, 4D or fixed
Sellers count the ways an armrest moves: a 1D armrest goes up and down, and each further D adds a direction, such as forward and back, in and out, or a pivot. The table prints the count the seller states. A fixed armrest does not move, and a flip-up armrest folds out of the way but does not change height. OSHA's advice for armrests that cannot be adjusted properly or that get in the way of the desk is to remove them or stop using them.
Stated armrests in this table: 4D or more, 24; 3D, 23; 2D, 12; 1D, 2; Adjustable, 50; Flip-up, 75; Fixed, 6; Armless, 52. 355 chairs do not state how its armrests adjust.
Recline and headrest
OSHA asks for a backrest that reclines at least 15 degrees from the vertical and locks or has tension adjustment. Sellers usually state the recline as a range from upright, such as 90 to 135 degrees, and the table keeps the larger figure. A headrest supports the head when you lean back between tasks.
241 chairs in this table state a recline angle, 211 of them 135 degrees or more, the largest 180 degrees. 312 chairs state a headrest.
Office chairs
An office or task chair is the one the seller names for a desk, without the racing-seat styling. The cover changes how the chair feels over a day: mesh lets air through, while leather and PU leather (a coated synthetic) wipe clean.
218 chairs of the 599 in this table meet the Office rule printed beside the filter, from $40.39 to $1,510.48 at the last price check.
Stated covers in this table: Mesh, 74; PU leather, 139; Leather, 40; Fabric, 82. 264 chairs do not state a cover.
Gaming chairs
Gaming chairs are styled after racing seats, with a tall back and side bolsters; many add a headrest, a slide-out footrest and a deep recline, and the filters show which ones state them. Many of them use a lumbar pillow rather than an adjustable lumbar support, so check the Lumbar support filter if you will also work in it all day.
381 chairs of the 599 in this table meet the Gaming rule printed beside the filter, from $40.56 to $1,237.10 at the last price check.
248 chairs in this table name a footrest in the title.
Big and tall chairs
OSHA asks for a chair sized to fit small or large users, with a seat wide enough for the hips and a seat pan deep enough for taller users. The weight limit is the figure sellers state most often, and the Big & tall rule reads it.
105 chairs of the 599 in this table meet the Big & tall rule printed beside the filter, from $49.49 to $729.00 at the last price check. 215 chairs do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
384 chairs in this table state a weight limit, 105 of them 350 lb or more, the highest 750 lb. 215 chairs do not state one.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What should a chair for programming have?
Adjustments that fit it to you for long hours: a lumbar support you can move to your lower back, armrests that let your shoulders relax, a seat that changes height, and a back that reclines and locks. Those are the points OSHA lists for a computer workstation chair. Source: OSHA's computer workstations guide to chairs
Is a gaming chair good for working all day?
It can be, if it adjusts the way an office chair does. Many gaming chairs use a separate lumbar pillow instead of an adjustable lumbar support; filter by Lumbar support to see which state an adjustable one. In this table, 381 chairs are gaming chairs and 218 are office chairs by the seller's title.
What do 2D, 3D and 4D armrests mean?
The number of ways the armrest moves, as the seller counts them: 1D is up and down only, and each further D adds a direction such as forward and back, in and out, or a pivot. Stated armrests here: 4D or more, 24; 3D, 23; 2D, 12; 1D, 2; Adjustable, 50; Flip-up, 75; Fixed, 6; Armless, 52.
How far should an office chair recline?
OSHA asks for at least 15 degrees from the vertical, with a backrest that locks or has tension adjustment. 241 chairs in this table state a recline angle. Source: OSHA's computer workstations guide to chairs
What weight limit does a big and tall chair have?
This page counts a chair as big and tall when the seller states a weight limit of 350 lb or more, the median limit of the chairs whose own title says big and tall. 105 chairs here meet it.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Chairs priced under $40 are not listed, and neither are gaming cockpits with a built-in desk or screen frame, or packs of ten chairs or more. 599 chairs are listed now.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing; Argusic has not tested these chairs hands-on. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a chair whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.