Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›
The rack power distribution units (PDUs) in the catalogue Argusic tracks, in one table you can filter by what the rack needs: enough outlets for every power cord, a rating the circuit can carry, a mounting that fits the rack, and a way to see or switch the power. Filter by outlets, amps, mounting, switched, network management, metering and price, then read the buying guide below the table.
Household power strips, extension cords, three-phase units and units over 30 A are not listed: only rack PDUs a home lab or a small office can plug in. Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.
Right now: 66 PDUs, each with a price read in the store's window, 62 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:44 PDT.
Top picks
Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.
Listing 66 PDUs priced from $35. Colours of one product share a row.
Use forThe rules
Home lab: A stated rack mounting (10-inch, 19-inch or vertical) and a stated rating of 20 A or less, the size of a household circuit. A stated rating over 20 A is left out. A listing that does not state the mounting or the rating is not judged.
10-inch mini rack: The title says it fits a 10-inch rack. A strip sold for a 19-inch rack or for vertical mounting is left out. A listing that does not state the mounting is not judged.
Remote control: Outlets switched by the PDU itself (a switched PDU in the title) or stated management over the network (SNMP, a web interface, a network port), so a hung machine can be power cycled from another room. A listing that states neither is not judged.
Metered: A stated meter or display of the current drawn (metered, monitored, an amp meter, a digital or LCD display), which shows how close the rack is to the circuit's limit. A listing that does not state one is not judged.
A PDU whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows PDUs that meet both.
20 shown of 66 matching
Recommended: $60 to $150 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.
Per Wikipedia's power distribution unit article, a PDU is a device with multiple outputs designed to distribute electric power, and the simplest are inexpensive rack-mounted power strips. In a home lab it takes the power cords of the switch, the servers and the NAS behind the UPS, mounted in the rack instead of lying on the floor.
47 PDUs of the 66 in this table meet the Home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $35.14 to $2,643.00 at the last price check. 14 PDUs do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Amps: what the circuit can carry
Per Wikipedia's NEMA connector article, the common North American 5-15R receptacle is rated for 15 A, and the number after the hyphen is the current rating in amperes. A PDU rated above the circuit it plugs into does not raise that limit. The Home lab rule asks for a stated 20 A or less.
58 PDUs in this table state a rating. 46 PDUs are rated 15 A. 5 PDUs are rated over 20 A. 8 PDUs do not state a rating.
Outlets
Count the power cords in the rack, including redundant power supplies, and add a few for what comes next.
58 PDUs in this table state an outlet count. The stated counts run from 4 to 24. 8 PDUs do not state an outlet count.
Mounting: horizontal or vertical
A horizontal PDU takes 1U or 2U of a 19-inch rack, or a slot in a 10-inch mini rack. A vertical (0U) PDU mounts along the back of a cabinet and takes no rack units.
Stated mountings in this table: 19-inch rack (1U or 2U), 36; 10-inch rack, 15; Vertical (0U), 5. 10 PDUs do not state a mounting.
PDUs for a 10-inch mini rack
A 10-inch mini rack needs a 10-inch PDU: a 19-inch strip does not fit its rails. The Use for rule counts a PDU only where the title says 10-inch.
15 PDUs of the 66 in this table meet the 10-inch mini rack rule printed beside the filter, from $37.99 to $69.99 at the last price check. 10 PDUs do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
Switched and network managed PDUs
Per Wikipedia's power distribution unit article, intelligent PDUs add outlet on and off control and alarms, and remote monitoring and control over SNMP. In a home lab that means power cycling a hung server from another room instead of walking to the rack.
6 PDUs of the 66 in this table meet the Remote control rule printed beside the filter, from $224.99 to $4,062.49 at the last price check. 60 PDUs do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
3 PDUs in this table state switched outlets. 3 PDUs in this table state management over the network.
Metered PDUs
Per Wikipedia's power distribution unit article, PDUs can meter power at the inlet, at each outlet and on each branch circuit. A meter on the PDU shows how close the rack is to the circuit's rating before a breaker trips.
8 PDUs of the 66 in this table meet the Metered rule printed beside the filter, from $39.99 to $4,062.49 at the last price check. 58 PDUs do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.
8 PDUs in this table state a meter or display. 35 PDUs in this table state surge protection.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What is a rack PDU?
Wikipedia's power distribution unit article describes a PDU as a device with multiple outputs designed to distribute electric power; the simplest are rack-mounted power strips. 66 PDUs are listed now. Source: Wikipedia's power distribution unit article
How many amps does a home lab PDU need?
No more than the circuit it plugs into. Wikipedia's NEMA connector article says the common 5-15R receptacle is rated for 15 A. The Home lab rule asks for 20 A or less. 58 PDUs in this table state a rating. Source: Wikipedia's NEMA connector article
What is the difference between a metered and a switched PDU?
A metered PDU shows the power drawn; a switched PDU also turns each outlet on and off. Wikipedia lists both metering and outlet on and off control among PDU features. 8 PDUs in this table state a meter. 3 PDUs in this table state switched outlets. Source: Wikipedia's power distribution unit article
Horizontal or vertical PDU?
A horizontal PDU takes 1U or 2U of the rack; a vertical (0U) PDU mounts at the back of a cabinet and takes no rack units. Stated mountings here: 19-inch rack (1U or 2U), 36; 10-inch rack, 15; Vertical (0U), 5.
Is a PDU the same as a surge protector?
No. A PDU distributes power to several outlets; surge protection is a separate feature some PDUs add. This table counts it only where the listing states it. 35 PDUs in this table state surge protection.
How this page is built
Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. PDUs priced under $35 are not listed. 66 PDUs are listed now.
Specs are what each seller states on its listing title and bullets; Argusic has not tested these PDUs hands-on and measured no current. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a PDU whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.
The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.
This build: 2026-10-19 18:08 UTC.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.
Discussion
Best PDUs for a home lab rack: outlets and amps | Argusic