Best cables for home labs and developer networks

Disclosure: When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

The cables in the catalogue Argusic tracks, most of them network cabling: Ethernet patch and bulk cable, fiber patch cords and SFP direct attach cables, with some audio, USB and storage cables. Filter by what the run needs: 10 Gb/s, a short rack patch, a long run between rooms, or a jacket rated for walls and outdoors. Read the buying guide below the table for what each choice changes.

Nothing here was tested hands-on. Specs are what the seller states, and the Use for rules are Argusic's, printed beside the filter.

Right now: 847 cables, each with a price read in the store's window, 843 in stock. Latest price read 10/19/2026 05:57 PDT.

Top picks

Three popular picks from the table below, one per brand, refreshed with the prices; commissions never change the order.

  1. Amazon eero CAT6a Ethernet cable

    Cat6a: rated for 10 Gb/s

    7.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:53 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  2. Bangun SC/APC to SC/APC Fiber Optic Internet Cable

    Single-mode fiber: carries 10 Gb/s

    8.99 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:53 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon
  3. 13.89 USD (as of 10/19/2026 05:54 PDT - Details)

    View on Amazon

Listing 847 cables priced from $5. Colours of one product share a row.

Use for
The rules
  • 10 Gb home lab: A cable rated for 10 Gb/s: Ethernet Cat6a, Cat7 or Cat8, fiber that is single-mode, OM3, OM4 or OM5, or a direct attach cable stated at 10 Gb/s or more. Cat5e and Cat6, OM1 and OM2 fiber, and audio, USB, video and storage cables are left out. The category, fiber grade or speed has to be stated.
  • Rack patching: An Ethernet, fiber or direct attach cable of 6.6 ft (2 m) or shorter, for patching a switch, a patch panel and servers in one rack. The length has to be stated.
  • Long runs: An Ethernet or fiber cable of 100 ft or longer, for a run between rooms or floors. The length has to be stated.
  • In-wall or outdoor: A stated plenum (CMP, OFNP), riser (CMR, OFNR) or outdoor and direct burial jacket. A listing that states no jacket rating is not judged.
  • A cable whose listing does not state what a rule needs is not counted as meeting it. Ticking two uses shows cables that meet both.
20 shown of 847 matching

Recommended: $20 to $60 first, popular first, one brand at a time; rows priced at another store take every third place while any are left. This is Argusic's editorial default, not a quality ranking. Commissions never change the order.

Cables

Yonwide Single Mode Fiber Lc to Lc 3m

Yonwide

Type: FiberFiber: Single-modeLength (ft): 9.8

10 Gb home lab: yesRack patching: noLong runs: noIn-wall or outdoor: not stated

  • Single-mode fiber: carries 10 Gb/s
  • Low smoke (LSZH) jacket stated
  • 5% below the store's typical price of $25.49
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Yonwide Store), not by the store itself

24.21 USDsold by Yonwide Storein stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:56 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

trueCABLE LC to LC OM4 Fiber Patch Cable

TRUE CABLE

Type: FiberFiber: OM4Length (ft): 98.4Speed (Gb/s): 100

10 Gb home lab: yesRack patching: noLong runs: noIn-wall or outdoor: yes

  • OM4 fiber: carries 10 Gb/s
  • Riser (CMR) jacket stated
  • Sold by a third-party seller (trueCABLE), not by the store itself

46.00 USDsold by trueCABLEin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:56 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

VANDESAIL LC to SC Fiber Patch Cable

VANDESAIL

Type: FiberFiber: Single-modeLength (ft): 6.6

10 Gb home lab: yesRack patching: yesLong runs: noIn-wall or outdoor: not stated

  • Single-mode fiber: carries 10 Gb/s
  • Sold by a third-party seller (FLOWHYET), not by the store itself

27.99 USDsold by FLOWHYETin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:56 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Cable Matters 5-Pack OS2 LC to LC Plenum Fiber Optic Cable

Cable Matters

Type: FiberFiber: Single-modeLength (ft): 9.8

10 Gb home lab: yesRack patching: noLong runs: noIn-wall or outdoor: yes

  • Single-mode fiber: carries 10 Gb/s
  • Plenum (CMP) jacket stated
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Cable Matters), not by the store itself

35.99 USDsold by Cable Mattersin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:53 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

USB C to Toslink Optical Audio Cable

QIMIAOUS

Type: Optical audioLength (ft): 4

10 Gb home lab: noRack patching: noLong runs: noIn-wall or outdoor: not stated

  • Sold by a third-party seller (HG-US), not by the store itself

24.98 USDsold by HG-USin stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:56 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Fibergaga®Outdoor LC to LC OS2 Fiber Patch Cable Singlemode TPU

Fibergaga

Type: FiberFiber: Single-modeLength (ft): 98.4Speed (Gb/s): 100

10 Gb home lab: yesRack patching: noLong runs: noIn-wall or outdoor: yes

  • Single-mode fiber: carries 10 Gb/s
  • Outdoor jacket stated
  • 15% below the store's list price of $49.99
  • Sold by a third-party seller (Fibergaga), not by the store itself

42.49 USDsold by Fibergagain stock(as of 10/19/2026 05:54 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Best cables for a 10 Gb home lab

A home lab moves past 1 Gb/s as soon as a NAS, a build server and a desktop trade large files. Whether a cable carries 10 Gb/s depends on its category (copper) or its grade (fiber), so the 10 Gb home lab rule reads exactly those.

490 cables of the 847 in this table meet the 10 Gb home lab rule printed beside the filter, from $5.04 to $27,977.66 at the last price check. 78 cables do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Ethernet: the category decides 10 Gb/s

Per Fluke Networks' history of Ethernet cable categories, Category 6A was ratified in 2009 as capable of 10 Gb/s to 100 meters, the full length of a standard run, while Category 6 reaches 10 Gb/s only over a shorter distance. Sellers list Cat7 and Cat8 cables at higher speeds; for a 10 Gb/s home network, Cat6a is the category Fluke cites at full length.

Stated categories among the 384 Ethernet cables in this table: Cat8, 11; Cat7, 2; Cat6a, 135; Cat6, 184; Cat5e, 2. 50 cables do not state one.

Fiber: single-mode or multimode grade

Multimode fiber comes in grades from OM1 to OM5; single-mode (OS1, OS2) is a different, narrow core. Per the Ethernet Alliance's note on 10GbE over OM4, 10GBASE-SR was standardized to at least 300 meters over OM3, and the IEEE set at least 400 meters over OM4. Match the fiber to the optics: a single-mode SFP needs single-mode fiber, a multimode one multimode fiber, and the connectors (LC, SC, MPO) have to match the ports.

Stated fiber types among the 356 fiber cables in this table: Single-mode, 158; OM5, 3; OM4, 108; OM3, 51; OM2, 1; OM1, 9; Multimode, 3. 23 cables do not state one.

Direct attach cables (DAC)

A direct attach cable has an SFP plug moulded on each end, so two SFP+ ports (a switch and a server network card, for example) connect without separate optics. 24 direct attach cables are listed in this table.

Patch cords for a rack

Inside a rack, short patch cords keep the front tidy and airflow clear: the rule takes Ethernet, fiber and direct attach cables of 6.6 ft (2 m) or shorter. Slim and flat patch cords are sold for dense switches.

283 cables of the 847 in this table meet the Rack patching rule printed beside the filter, from $5.04 to $139.99 at the last price check. 39 cables do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

Long runs between rooms

Between rooms or floors the run is long and usually hidden, so the rule takes Ethernet or fiber of 100 ft or more. A copper run longer than 100 meters (about 328 ft) is past the length Fluke Networks cites for Category 6A at 10 Gb/s; fiber goes farther.

189 cables of the 847 in this table meet the Long runs rule printed beside the filter, from $11.89 to $27,977.66 at the last price check. 39 cables do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

793 cables in this table state a length. 54 cables do not state one.

In-wall and outdoor cable

Cable run through walls, ceilings and outdoors has a jacket rating printed on it: plenum (CMP, or OFNP for fiber) for air-handling spaces, riser (CMR, OFNR) for vertical runs between floors, and outdoor or direct burial for outside. Local building codes say which one a run needs.

Stated jackets in this table: Plenum (CMP), 39; Riser (CMR), 28; Outdoor, 60; Low smoke (LSZH), 70.

127 cables of the 847 in this table meet the In-wall or outdoor rule printed beside the filter, from $5.99 to $27,977.66 at the last price check. 720 cables do not state enough to judge and are never counted as meeting it.

83 cables state shielding (STP, FTP or S/FTP).

The other cables in this table

The same store category also holds optical audio (Toslink) cables for TVs and soundbars, USB cables, and SAS and SATA cables for drives and storage controllers. Use the Type filter to see only one kind.

Cables by type in this table: Ethernet, 384; Fiber, 356; Direct attach (SFP), 24; Optical audio, 60; USB, 11; Video, 3; SAS or SATA, 9.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Which Ethernet cable do I need for 10 Gb/s?

Cat6a for a full-length run: Fluke Networks cites Category 6A as capable of 10 Gb/s to 100 meters, and Category 6 only over a shorter distance. Stated categories in this table: Cat8, 11; Cat7, 2; Cat6a, 135; Cat6, 184; Cat5e, 2. Source: Fluke Networks' history of Ethernet cable categories

OM3, OM4 or single-mode fiber?

For 10 Gb/s over multimode, OM3 reaches at least 300 meters and OM4 at least 400 meters with 10GBASE-SR optics. Single-mode needs single-mode optics; use whichever your SFP modules are made for. Stated fiber types here: Single-mode, 158; OM5, 3; OM4, 108; OM3, 51; OM2, 1; OM1, 9; Multimode, 3. Source: the Ethernet Alliance's note on 10GbE over OM4

DAC or fiber with SFP modules?

A direct attach cable is one part with the SFP plugs built in, sold in fixed lengths for links inside a rack or between neighboring racks; fiber with separate SFP modules suits longer runs. 24 direct attach cables are listed here.

Do I need plenum or riser cable?

Plenum (CMP) is for air-handling spaces such as drop ceilings, riser (CMR) for vertical runs between floors; local building codes decide which a run needs. A patch cord on a desk needs neither.

Is a Cat8 cable better than Cat6a at home?

Not for a 10 Gb/s home network: Fluke Networks cites Category 6A at 10 Gb/s over 100 meters, which covers a run across a house, and a 10 Gb/s port runs at 10 Gb/s on either. Source: Fluke Networks' history of Ethernet cable categories

How this page is built

Prices come from the stores Argusic tracks. An Amazon price counts when it was read in the last 24 hours, another store's price when it was read in the last 48 hours, because those feeds arrive once a day. Each price shows the store and the time it was read. Cables priced under $5 are not listed. Parts and tools in the same store category (keystone jacks, patch panels, couplers, adapters, splicers, testers) are not listed either. 847 cables are listed now.

Specs are what each seller states on its listing; Argusic has not tested these cables. Lengths are shown in feet; a length stated in meters is converted at 3.28084 ft per meter. The Use for rules are Argusic's and printed beside the filter, and a cable whose listing does not state what a rule needs is never counted as meeting it.

The default order, Recommended, puts a middle price band first, then the bands on either side, then the rest; within each band popular models come first and brands take turns. The Top picks block shows one model per brand. The order is an editorial default, not a quality ranking, and commissions never change the order or any number.

This build: 2026-10-19 17:22 UTC.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Comments never affect rankings or any number on this page.

Discussion